tracks musicians credits related releases

The Best of Country Joe & the Fish

Country Joe & The Fish

Initial release : 1973

Vanguard VSD 79000

UK compilation of tracks from the first five Country Joe & The Fish LPs.


  • The "Fish" Cheer/I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To Rag (McDonald)
  • Death Sound Blues (McDonald)
  • Porpoise Mouth (McDonald)
  • Who Am I (McDonald)
  • Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine (McDonald)
  • Grace (McDonald)
  • Here I Go Again (McDonald)
  • Maria (McDonald)
  • Sing, Sing, Sing (Melton)
  • An Untitled Protest (McDonald)
  • The Harlem Song (McDonald)
  • The Love Machine (Melton)

The musicians on these tracks are;

  • Country Joe McDonald - guitar, organ, harmonica, tambourine, bells, vocals
  • Barry Melton - guitar, kazoo, vocals
  • Bruce Barthol - bass, harmonium, vocals
  • Chicken Hirsh - drums, congas, bells, wine bottles, sand blocks, castanets, music box, vocals
  • David Cohen - guitar, calliope, piano, organ, harpsichord, bells, vocals
  • Greg Dewey - drums (Sing, Sing, Sing and The Love Machine)
  • Mark Kapner - keyboards (Sing, Sing, Sing and The Love Machine)
  • Doug Metzner - bass (Sing, Sing, Sing and The Love Machine)

  • Original producer - Samuel Charters
  • Except Sing Sing Sing and Love Machine produced by - Tom Wilson
  • Liner notes - Martin Hayman
Related releases

Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine, Death Sound Blues, Porpoise Mouth and Grace were originally released on;

The "Fish" Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag and Who Am I were originally released on; An Untitled Protest and The Harlem Song were originally released on;
  • Together, Country Joe & The Fish, 1968
Maria and Here I Go Again were originally released on; Sing, Sing, Sing and The Love Machine were originally released on;
  • C J Fish, Country Joe & The Fish, 1970