tracks musicians credits related releases

The Best of the Vanguard Years

Otis Spann

Initial release : 1999

Vanguard 79537

Barry Melton plays on some tracks on this collection.

Buy from

album cover


  • Marie
  • Burning Fire
  • S.P. Blues
  • Sometimes I Wonder
  • Spann's Stomp
  • Home to Mississippi
  • Blues Is a Botheration
  • You Said You'd Be on Time
  • Cryin' Time
  • Blind Man
  • Some Day
  • Twisted Snake
  • Green Flowers
  • The New Boogaloo
  • Mule Kicking in My Stall
  • Blues Jam
  • He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
  • My God

Musicians on tracks 6 to 15 are

  • Otis Spann - organ, piano, vocals
  • Joseph Davidson - bass
  • Luther Johnson - guitar
  • Barry Melton - guitar
  • Lucille Spann - vocals (on Some Day and Blind Man)
  • Lonnie Taylor - drums
Musicians on tracks 1 to 5 and 16 to 18 are;
  • Otis Spann - piano, vocals
  • S. P. Leary - drums

  • Original producer - Samuel Charters, Michael Chechik
  • Compilation producer - Tom Vickers
  • Compilation engineer - Jeff Zaraya
  • Liner notes - Ed Ward
  • Photography - Ray Ferlage, David Gahr
  • Package design - Drew Cartwright
Related releases

Barry Melton played on Spann's Crin' Time LP. Home to Mississippi, Blues Is a Botheration, You Said You'd Be on Time, Cryin' Time, Blind Man, Some Day, Twisted Snake, Green Flowers, The New Boogaloo and Mule Kicking in My Stall are taken from that release;

Marie, Burning Fire, S.P. Blues, Sometimes I Wonder and Spann's Stomp were originally released on;
  • Chicago/The Blues/Today!, Various Artists, 1966, VSD 79216
Blues Jam, He's Got the Whole World in His Hands and My God are previously unreleased.