tracks musicians credits

Symphony No 3 in C sharp minor

Havergal Brian

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Initial release : 1989

Hyperion CDA66334

The reissue of this recording was partly enabled by funding provided by the Rex Foundation. The Rex Foundation and Phil Lesh are thanked in the booklet of later CD reissues.

Buy from

album cover


  • Symphony No 3 in C sharp minor
    Andante moderato e sempre sostenuto e marcato
    Lento sempre marcato e rubato
    Allegro vivace
    Lento solenne

  • BBC Symphony Orchestra
  • Lionel Friend - Conductor
  • Bela Dekany - leader
  • Andrew Ball - piano
  • Julian Jacobson - piano

  • Recording producer - John H. West
  • Recording engineer - Tony Faulkner
  • Cover design - Terry Shannon
  • Booklet editor - Tim Parry
  • Executive producers - David Brown, Edward Perry
  • Liner notes - David Brown
  • Recorded in Studio 1, BBC Maida Vale, London, on October 27-28, 1988
  • This recording was made in association with the Havergal Brian Society
  • The Society gratefully acknowledges financial assistance from The Rex Foundation of San Francisco, Reedprint Ltd of Windsor, the Havergal Brian Estate and individual members of the Society
  • Special thanks to Wilfrid Chadwick, Paul Berry, Jim Banks, Graham Forster and Phil Lesh
  • Front illustration - Pan Piping by Sir Joseph Noel Paton