tracks musicians credits related releases

Cheaper Thrills

Big Brother and The Holding Company

Initial release : 1984

Edsel ED 135

Archive release of live material recorded in 1966 shortly after Janis Joplin joined the group.


  • (Come on Baby) Let the Good Times Roll (Lee Leonard)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional)
  • Moanin' at Midnight (Burnett)
  • Hey Baby (Big Brother and the Holding Company)
  • Down on Me (Traditional)
  • Whisperman (Big Brother and the Holding Company)
  • Women Is Losers (Joplin)
  • Blow My Mind (McCracklin)
  • Ball and Chain (Thornton)
  • Coo Coo (Traditional)
  • Gutra's Garden (Big Brother and the Holding Company)
  • Harry (Getz)
Bonus track on later CD release;
  • Hall of the Mountain King (Grieg)
Buy from

album cover

album cover


  • Janis Joplin - percussion, vocals
  • Peter Albin - bass, vocals
  • Sam Andrew - guitar
  • David Getz - drums
  • James Gurley - guitar

  • Producer - David Getz
  • Engineer - Peter Abram, Dana Chappele
  • Artwork design - Stanley Mouse, Pete Tytler
  • Recorded live on July 28, 1966, at California Hall, San Francisco
Related releases

The live material on this release was also released as;