The Chess Box

Howlin' Wolf

Initial release : 1991

Chess / MCA

A 3 CD box set of tracks recorded between 1951 and 1973.


  • Moanin' at Midnight (Howlin' Wolf)
  • How Many More Years (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Howlin' Wolf Boogie (Howlin' Wolf)
  • The Wolf Is at Your Door (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Mr. Highway Man (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Howlin' Wolf Talks, No.1
  • Bluebird (Burnett)
  • Saddle My Pony (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Well That's All Right (Howlin' Wolf)
  • My Last Affair (Johnson)
  • Just My Kind (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Work for Your Money (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Mama Died and Left Me (Howlin' Wolf)
  • All Night Boogie (All Night Long) (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Streamline Woman (Waters)
  • Crazy About You Baby (Williamson)
  • You Gonna Wreck My Life (No Place to Go) (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Neighbors (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Howlin' Wolf Talks, No. 2
  • I'm the Wolf (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Rockin' Daddy (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Baby How Long (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Evil (Dixon)
  • I'll Be Around (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Forty-Four (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Who Will Be Next? (London)
  • Don't Mess With My Baby (Graham)
  • Smokestack Lightning (Howlin' Wolf)
  • You Can't Be Beat (Benett)
  • Howlin' Wolf Talks, No. 3
  • I Asked for Water (She Gave Me Gasoline) (Benett)
  • The Natchez Burning (Benett)
  • Who's Been Talking? (Burnett)
  • Tell Me (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Sitting on Top of the World (Chatmon / Vinson)
  • I Didn't Know (Benett)
  • Moanin' for My Baby (Benett)
  • Change My Way (Benett)
  • I Better Go Now (Benett)
  • Howlin' for My Darlin' (Dixon / Howlin' Wolf)
  • I've Been Abused (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Mr. Airplane Man (Benett)
  • Wang Dang Doodle (Dixon)
  • Back Door Man (Dixon)
  • Howlin' Wolf Talks, No. 4
  • Spoonful (Dixon)
  • Down in the Bottom (Dixon)
  • Shake for Me (Dixon)
  • The Red Rooster (Dixon)
  • You'll Be Mine (Dixon)
  • Just Like I Treat You (Dixon)
  • I Ain't Superstitious (Dixon)
  • Goin' Down Slow (Oden)
  • Tail Dragger (Dixon)
  • Hidden Charms (Dixon)
  • Three Hundred Pounds of Joy (Dixon)
  • Built for Comfort (Dixon)
  • Love Me Darlin' (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Killing Floor (Burnett / Howlin' Wolf)
  • My Country Sugar Mama (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Louise (Howlin' Wolf)
  • I Walked from Dallas (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Tell Me What I've Done (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Don't Laugh at Me (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Ooh Baby (Hold Me) (Howlin' Wolf)
  • New Crawlin' King Snake (Atkins / Howlin' Wolf)
  • My Mind Is Ramblin' (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Commit a Crime (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Dust My Broom (James)
  • I'm the Wolf (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Ain't Goin' Down That Dirt Road (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Mary Sue (Howlin' Wolf)
  • Hard Luck (Howlin' Wolf)
  • The Red Rooster (Dixon)
  • Moving (Howlin' Wolf)
Buy from