tracks musicians credits related releases

Greatest Hits

Country Joe & The Fish

Initial release : 1969

Vanguard VSD 654

Compilation of tracks from the first four Country Joe & The Fish LPs.


  • The "Fish" Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag (McDonald)
  • Maria (McDonald)
  • The Streets of Your Town (Melton)
  • Who Am I (McDonald)
  • Porpoise Mouth (McDonald/Melton/Cohen/Barthol/Hirsch)
  • Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine (McDonald/Melton/Cohen/Barthol/Hirsch)
  • The Masked Marauder (McDonald/Melton/Cohen/Barthol/Hirsch)
  • Bass Strings (McDonald/Melton/Cohen/Barthol/Hirsch)
  • Here I Go Again (McDonald)

The musicians on these tracks are;

  • Country Joe McDonald - guitar, organ, harmonica, tambourine, bells, vocals
  • Barry Melton - guitar, kazoo, vocals
  • Bruce Barthol - bass, harmonium, vocals
  • Chicken Hirsh - drums, congas, bells, wine bottles, sand blocks, castanets, music box, vocals
  • David Cohen - guitar, calliope, piano, organ, harpsichord, bells, vocals
  • Mark Ryan - bass (Here I Go Again)
  • Mark Kapner - piano (Maria)
  • Peter Albin - bass (Maria)

  • Original producer - Samuel Charters
  • Original engineers - Robert di Souza, Ed Friedner
Related releases

Porpoise Mouth, Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine, The Masked Marauder and Bass Strings were originally released on;

The "Fish" Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag and Who Am I were originally released on; The Streets of Your Town was originally released on;
  • Together, Country Joe & The Fish, 1968
Maria and Here I Go Again were originally released on;
Buy from