tracks musicians credits related releases


Janis Joplin

Initial release : November 1993

Columbia/Legacy 48845

Three CD set covering Janis Joplin's career. Includes 18 previously unreleased tracks. Includes tracks recorded live at the Avalon Ballroom in San Francisco in 1966 and 1967 and at the Carousel Ballroom in San Francisco in 1968. Includes two tracks with Jorma Kaukonen from 1965.


Disc 1

  • What Good Can Drinkin' Do
  • Trouble in Mind
  • Hesitation Blues
  • Easy Rider
  • Coo Coo
  • Down on Me
  • The Last Time
  • All Is Loneliness
  • Call On Me
  • Women Is Losers
  • Intruder
  • Light Is Faster Than Sound
  • Bye Bye Baby
  • Farewell Song
  • Flower In The Sun
  • Misery 'n
  • Road Block
  • Ball and Chain
Disc 2
  • Combination Of The Two
  • I Need A Man To Love
  • Piece Of My Heart
  • Turtle Blues
  • Oh, Sweet Mary
  • Catch Me Daddy
  • Summertime
  • Kozmic Blues
  • Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)
  • One Good Man
  • Dear Landlord
  • To Love Somebody
  • As Good as You've Been to This World
  • Little Girl Blue
  • Work Me, Lord
  • Maybe
  • Raise Your Hand
Disc 3
  • Me And Bobby McGee
  • One Night Stand
  • Tell Mama
  • Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)
  • Cry Baby
  • Move Over
  • A Woman Left Lonely
  • Half Moon
  • Happy Birthday, John
  • My Baby
  • Trust Me
  • Get It While You Can
  • Me And Bobby McGee

The musicians on the tracks of this box set include;

  • Janis Joplin - guitar, autoharp, vocals
  • Peter Albin - bass
  • Sam Andrew - guitar
  • Maury Baker - drums
  • Richard Bell - piano
  • Michael Bloomfield - guitar
  • Brad Campbell - bass
  • Lonnie Castille - drums
  • Terry Clements - saxophone
  • Sandra Crouch - tambourine
  • Snookey Flowers - saxophone
  • Luis Gasca - trumpet
  • David Getz - drums
  • James Gurley - guitar
  • Bobbye Hall - percussion
  • Jorma Kaukonen - guitar
  • Richard Kermode - keyboards
  • Gabriel Mekler - keyboards
  • Ken Pearson - organ
  • Clark Pierson - drums
  • John Simon - piano
  • John Till - guitar
  • Bobby Womack - guitar

  • Original producers - John Simon, Elliot Mazer, Bob Shad, Paul Rothchild, Gabriel Mekler, John Phillips, Jorma Kaukonen, Lou Adler
  • Compilation Producer - Bob Irwin
  • Remixing, remastering - Vic Anesini
  • Art Direction - Sara Rotman
  • Liner Notes - Ellen Willis, Ann Powers
  • Photography - Bob Seidemann, Bill Brach, Steve Mills, Joseph Sia, David Gahr
Related releases

A number of the tracks in this set have been previously released in identical of slightly edited form on earlier albums, or are taken from the recording sessions for those albums.

Easy Rider, Coo-Coo, Down on Me, The Last Time, All Is Loneliness, Intruder, Light Is Faster than Sound and Bye, Bye Baby from;

Combination of the Two, I Need a Man to Love, Piece of My Heart, Turtle Blues, Oh, Sweet Mary, Catch Me Daddy and Summertime from; Kozmic Blues, Try (Just a Little Bit Harder), One Good Man, Dear Landlord, To Love Somebody, As Good as You've Been to This World, Little Girl Blue and Work Me, Lord from; A six track promotional sampler, comprising; Me & Bobby McGee (Demo), Summertime, Down on Me, Trouble in Mind, Try (Just a Little Bit Harder) and Move Over, was released in conjunction with this set;
  • Six Sides of Janis, Janis Joplin, 1993, Columbia CSK 5223
Buy from

album cover