tracks musicians related releases

Janis Soundtrack

Janis Joplin

Initial release : 1975

Columbia 33345

Double LP of material covering Janis Joplin's performing career including interviews, TV appearances, live and studio tracks. Produced to accompany a documentary about Janis. The second LP of the set highlights early performances.


LP 1 (Motion picture soundtrack)

  • Mercedes Benz
  • Ball and Chain
  • Rap on Try
  • Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
  • Summertime
  • Albert Hall
  • Cry Baby
  • Move Over
  • Dick Cavett TV Interview
  • Piece of My Heart
  • Port Arthur High School Reunion
  • Maybe
  • Me & Bobby McGee
LP 2 (Early performances)
  • Trouble in Mind
  • What Good Can Drinkin' Do
  • Silver Threads and Golden Needles
  • Mississippi River
  • Stealin' Stealin'
  • No Reason for Livin'
  • Black Mountain Blues
  • Walk Right In
  • River Jordan
  • Mary Jane
  • Kansas City Blues
  • Daddy, Daddy, Daddy
  • See See Rider
  • San Francisco Bay Blues
  • Winin' Boy
  • Careless Love
  • I'll Drown in my Own Tears

Some tracks on this collection are by Big Brother And The Holding Company;

  • Janis Joplin - vocals
  • Peter Albin - bass
  • Sam Andrew - guitar
  • David Getz - drums
  • James Gurley - guitar
Further musician details will be added when available.

Related releases

Three tracks on the first LP are taken from albums.

Piece of My Heart from;

Me & Bobby McGee, Cry Baby and Mercedes Benz from;
  • Pearl, Janis Joplin, 1971
The other tracks are live recordings.

Mary Jane was included on;

Ball and Chain, Maybe, Summertime, I'll Drown in My Own Tears, Silver Threads and Golden Needles and San Francisco Bay Blues were included on;
Buy from

album cover