tracks musicians credits

An Untamed Sense of Control

Roscoe Holcomb

Initial release : 2003

Smithsonian Folkways

John Cohen plays n two tracks of this collection. He also produced and compiled the collection, write the liner notes and took the photos.


  • Swanno Mountain
  • Across the Rocky Mountain
  • Graveyard Blues
  • Single Girl
  • Little Maggie
  • Born and Raised in Covington
  • Barbara Allen Blues
  • Coal Creek
  • Rock Island Prison
  • I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow
  • Combs Hotel Burned Down
  • The Hills of Mexico
  • Knife Guitar
  • Mississippi Heavy Water Blues
  • Coney Isle
  • Train That Carried My Girl from Town
  • Milk Cow Blues
  • Black Eye Suzie
  • Darling Cory
  • I Ain't Got No Sugar Baby Now
  • Sitting on Top of the World
  • Frankie and Johnnie
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • Fair Miss in the Garden
  • Willow Garden
  • True Love

  • Roscoe Holcomb - guitar, banjo, fiddle, harmonica, vocals
  • John Cohen - guitar (on Single Girl and Willow Garden)

  • Producer, compiler, annotations - John Cohen
  • Recordings - Mark Wilson, Bill Nowlin, Phil Williams, Peter Bartok, Blanton Owen
  • Sound supervision, mastering - Pete Reiniger
  • Production superviser - Daniel Sheehy, D.A. Sonneborn
  • Production manager - Mary Monseur
  • Editorial assistance - Carla Borden
  • Photos - John Cohen
  • Design - Visual Dialogue
Buy from

album cover

album cover