tracks musicians credits related releases

Welcome to the Dance

The Sons of Champlin

Initial release : 1973

Columbia AL 32341

The fourth Sons Of Champlin LP. Released after a two year hiatus which saw the band personnel change and also a brief change of name.

Buy from

album cover


  • Lightnin' (Champlin)
  • For Joy (Champlin)
  • Who/Heaven Only Knows (Champlin)
  • Right On (Champlin)
  • No Mo' (Haggerty)
  • The Swim (Champlin)
  • Welcome to the Dance (Champlin)
  • Welcome to the Dance: Silence (Champlin)
  • Welcome to the Dance: Sound/Turn Around (Champlin)
  • Welcome to the Dance: Healthy Woman (Champlin)
  • Welcome to the Dance: Welcome to the Dance (Champlin)

Musicians are possibly as follows;

  • Bill Champlin - guitar, keyboard, saxophone, vocals
  • Geoffrey Palmer - bass, keyboards, saxophone, percussion, vocals
  • Terry Haggerty - guitar, vocals
  • David Schallock - bass, vocals
  • James Preston - drums
  • Mark Isham - horn
  • Phil Woods - horn
  • Michael Andreas - horn

  • Producer - The Sons of Champlin, Roy Segal
  • Engineer - Mike Fusaro, Pete Romano
Related releases

One single was released in conjunction with this LP;

  • Welcome To The Dance / The Swim, The Sons Of Champlin, 1973, Columbia 45872
The song Welcome to the Dance was included on;