tracks / musicians credits related releases

What A Way to Come Down

Various Artists

Initial release : 1997

Big Beat 173

This compilation of tracks recorded at Golden State Recorders in San Francisco includes tracks by Butch Engle & The Styx, Transatlantic Railroad, Gold and by The Vejtables, using the group name The Book Of Changes. This compilation is part of the Big Beat series Nuggets From The Golden State.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • No Parking - Gold
  • I Stole the Goodyear Blimp - The Book of Changes
  • Good Times - Transatlantic Railroad
  • Left Hand Girl - Butch Engle & The Styx
  • My Kind of People - Just Slightly Richer
  • Wet Chant - The Immediate Family
  • Highway, Highway - The Short Yellow
  • Solitude - Just Slightly Richer
  • Colors - The Staff
  • Shoot Me Through - The Collection
  • Love Is the Greatest Thing - The Royal Family
  • Suddenly I'm Desperately in Love - The Book of Changes
  • No Matter What You Say - Butch Engle & The Styx
  • Start Seeing - The Short Yellow
  • Signed BS - The Royal Family
  • Now She's Gone - Transatlantic Railroad
  • He Was a Friend of Mine - The Collection
  • Rubiyat - The Immediate Family
  • She Is Love - Butch Engle & The Styx
  • I Saw You - Gold
  • Let's Be Friends Again - Transatlantic RR
  • Mirrors - Transatlantic RR
  • Purple Orange - The Strawberry Window
  • Eyes - The Strawberry Window
  • Mr. Misfortune - The Staff

  • Original producer, tape transfer - Leo De Gar Kulka
  • Compilation, archive research, liner notes - Alec Palao
  • Post production - David Young
  • Package design - Phil Smee
  • Memorabilia courtesy of Alec Palao, Leo Kulka, Butch Engle, Steve Cox
Related releases

The two Vegetables (The Book Of Changes) tracks were originally released as a single;

  • I Stole the Goodyear Blimp / Suddenly I'm Desperately in Love, The Book of Changes, 1967, Tower 337
The three Butch Engle & The Styx tracks are previously unreleased.

One track by Gold was originally released on a single;

  • Summertime / No Parking, Gold, 1970, Golden State 501
All other tracks on this compilation are previously unreleased.