A Night At The Family Dog

Jefferson Airplane / Grateful Dead / Santana

Broadcast date: 1970

Initial DVD release : 2007 (Note that this release was announced in 2005 but was then delayed)

Eagle Vision

Live material recorded at the Family Dog At The Great Highway in San Francisco on February 4, 1970. Originally broadcast on National Educational Television Network (NET) in 1970.

The songs on the compilation are;

  • Incident At Neshabur - Santana
  • Soul Sacrifice - Santana
  • Hard To Handle - Grateful Dead
  • China Cat Sunflower - Grateful Dead
  • I Know You Rider - Grateful Dead
  • The Ballad of You And Me And Pooneil - Jefferson Airplane
  • Eskimo Blue Day - Jefferson Airplane
  • Super jam featuring members of Santana, Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane
The musicians on the Grateful Dead tracks are;
  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - electric bass, vocals
  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan - organ, harmonica, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals
A Night At The Family Dog was the first of a two part NET series presented by Ralph J. Gleason. The second part, which featured music by Jefferson Airplane and Quicksilver Messenger Service, was;
Buy DVD from amazon.com