tracks musicians credits related releases

American Beauty

Grateful Dead

Initial release : Nov 1970

Warner Bros. WS 1893

The Dead's sixth album and the second to explore the musical territory previously examined in Workingman's Dead.


  • Box Of Rain (Hunter / Lesh)
  • Friend Of The Devil (Garcia / Hunter / Dawson)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Hunter / Weir)
  • Operator (McKernan)
  • Candyman (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Ripple (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Brokedown Palace (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Till The Morning Comes (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Attics Of My Life (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Garcia / Hunter / Lesh / Weir)
Bonus tracks on 2003 expanded CD release;
  • Truckin' (Single version) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter / Phil Lesh / Bob Weir)
  • Friend of the Devil (Live) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter / John Dawson)
  • Candyman (Live) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • 'Till the Morning Comes (Live) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Attics of My Life (Live) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Live) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter / Phil Lesh / Bob Weir)

    Hidden track

  • Ripple (Single version) (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • 30 sec radio spot

Grateful Dead;

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - harmonica, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
Thanks to;
  • Dave Torbert - bass on Box Of Rain
  • Dave Nelson - electric guitar on Box Of Rain
  • David Grisman - mandolin on Friend Of The Devil and Ripple
  • Howard Wales - piano on Brokedown Palace and organ on Candyman and Truckin'
  • Ned Lagin - piano on Candyman
  • New Riders of the Purple Sage

  • Producers - The Grateful Dead
  • Co-producer - Audio-Steve Barncard
  • Artwork - Kelly-Mouse Studios
  • Photography - George Conger

  • Recorded at Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco in August and September 1970
Related releases

A 5 track EP version of American Beauty was released for jukebox play;

An audiophile pressing was released in 1978: Mobile Fidelity MFSL-014
Released on CD in 1987 by Warner Brothers 2-1893

One single, with edited versions of two songs, was released in conjunction with this LP;

The same edited version of Truckin' was subsequently issued on two other singles; American Beauty was included with bonus tracks in the box set; The expanded CD release that formed part of the Golden Road box set was released as an individual item in February 2003. This CD release was remastered in HDCD and included extra tracks, an expanded booklet, rare photos, and new liner notes.

American Beauty was included in the 3 CD box set;

American Beauty was released in DVDAudio format; The DVDAudio version and the normal CD version were released as a dualdisc version; In 2007 Rhino released a CD version of American Beauty in CD packaging that replicates the original LP cover and inner sleeve. This was part of the Rhino Replicas series. American Beauty was the only Grateful Dead release in this series.

The DVD Audio version of Sugar Magnolia from the above DVD release was included on;

American Beauty was released as a two LP on one cassette configuration; One outtake from the American Beauty recording sessions, To Lay Me Down, was included on the 5 CD box set; Ripple and Truckin' were included on the Grateful Dead compilation; Truckin', Sugar Magnolia and Friend Of The Devil were included on; Truckin', Sugar Magnolia, Box Of Rain, Ripple and Friend Of The Devil were included on; Truckin' was included on a bonus interview CD which was distributed with some copies of The Very Best Of Jerry Garcia; A number of the songs on American Beauty have been included on various artist compilation albums.

Buy from

Buy expanded CD from

LP sleeve
album cover

album cover

CD cover
album cover

album cover

2007 Replica
album cover

Mobile Fidelity
album cover

5 track EP
album cover

Promotional poster
album cover