tracks musicians credits related releases

American Beauty: 50th Anniversary Colored Vinyl LP

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 2020


A A single LP colored vinyl release celebrating the 50th anniversary of the original release of the American Beauty LP. This was a limited edition release of 4,000 copies available only via the website.


  • Box Of Rain
  • Friend Of The Devil
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Operator
  • Candyman
  • Ripple
  • Brokedown Palace
  • Till The Morning Comes
  • Attics Of My Life
  • Truckin'

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - harmonica, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums

  • Dave Torbert - bass on Box Of Rain
  • Dave Nelson - electric guitar on Box Of Rain
  • David Grisman - mandolin on Friend Of The Devil and Ripple
  • Howard Wales - piano on Brokedown Palace and organ on Candyman and Truckin'
  • Ned Lagin - piano on Candyman
  • New Riders of the Purple Sage

Original LP credits:

  • Producers - The Grateful Dead
  • Co-producer - Audio-Steve Barncard
  • Artwork - Kelly-Mouse Studios
  • Photography - George Conger
  • Recorded at Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco in August and September 1970
50th anniversary credits:
  • Mixing (from the 16-track analog master tapes) - Jeffrey Norman
  • Mastering - David Glasser
  • Speed correction and tape restoration - Plangent Processes
Related releases

American Beauty was originally released in 1970:

A 3 CD expanded edition and a picture disc LP version of American Beauty were also released to mark the 50th anniversary: A digital album of previously unreleased studio outtakes from the American Beauty recordings sessions was also released to mark the 50th anniversary: See the page for the original LP for information about other related releases.

album cover

album cover