tracks / musicians related releases

The Best Of The Chicago Blues

Various Artists

Initial release : 1987?

Vanguard 73125?

Martin Fierro plays on one James Cotton track of this compilation. Barry Melton plays on a track with Otis Spann


The tracks and musicians on this compilation are;

  • Love Me or Leave Me - James Cotton
  • Next Time You See Me - James Cotton
  • Spann's Stomp - Otis Spann
  • One Room Country Shack - Buddy Guy
  • That's the Truth - J.B. Hutto
  • Sombody Been Talkin' - Homesick James
  • I Had a Dream Last Night - Buddy Guy
  • When My Baby Left Me - Junior Wells
  • Sweet Little Angel - Buddy Guy
  • Rocket 88 - James Cotton
  • Mule Kicking My Stall - Otis Spann
  • The Blues Keep Falling - James Cotton
  • Rockin' My Boogie - Big Walter Horton's Blues Harp Band
  • S. P. Blues - Otis Spann
  • Five Long Years - Junior Wells
  • Checking On My Baby - Junior Wells
  • Some Day - Otis Spann
  • Stealin' Back - Johnny Young's South Side Band
  • Tobacco Road - Junior Wells
Martin Fierro plays on Next Time You See me, which is taken from the James Cotton LP Cut You Loose.

Barry Melton plays on Mule Kicking in My Stall and Some Day which are taken from Spann's Cryin' Time LP>

Related releases

Next Time You See Me is taken from;

Mule Kicking in My Stall and Some Day are taken from;
Buy from

album cover