tracks credits related releases

The Best Of The New Riders Of The Purple Sage

New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Initial release : 1976

Columbia 34367

A compilation of tracks taken from five of the first six NRPS releases. Half of the tracks are taken from the first NRPS album. Garcia plays on five tracks of this compilation, Mickey Hart plays on one, Bill Kreutzmann plays on one. One track is from an album that was produced by Garcia.


  • I Don't Know You (Dawson)
  • Glendale Train (Dawson)
  • Hello Mary Lou (Mangiaracina/Pitney)
  • Louisiana Lady (Dawson)
  • Kick in the Head (Hunter)
  • Panama Red (Rowan)
  • Last Lonely Eagle (Dawson)
  • You Angel You (Dylan)
  • I Don't Need No Doctor (Armstead/Ashford/Simpson)
  • Henry (Dawson)

  • Original producers - New Riders, Phil Lesh, Steve Barcard, Norbert Putnam, Jerry Garcia, Ed Freeman
  • Design - Ed Lee
  • Photo - Eric Meola
  • Lettering - Gerard Huerta, Richard Kenerson
Related releases

I Don't Know You, Glendale Train, Louisiana Lady, Last Lonely Eagle and Henry are taken from;

I Don't Need No Doctor is taken from; Kick in the Head and Panama Red are taken from; Hello Mary Lou is taken from; You Angel You is taken from;
  • Brujo, New Riders Of The Purple Sage, 1975
Buy from

album cover