tracks musicians credits notes related releases

The New Riders Of The Purple Sage

The New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Initial release : August 1971

Columbia C 30888

The first NRPS album. Garcia was a full time member of the group at the time and plays on all tracks. Mickey Hart sits in on two tracks.


  • I Don't Know You (John Dawson)
  • Whatcha Gonna Do (John Dawson)
  • Portland Woman (John Dawson)
  • Henry (John Dawson)
  • Dirty Business (John Dawson)
  • Glendale Train (John Dawson)
  • Garden Of Eden (John Dawson)
  • All I Ever Wanted (John Dawson)
  • Last Lonely Eagle (John Dawson)
  • Louisiana Lady (John Dawson)
Bonus tracks, recorded live at the Fillmore West, on 2003 extended CD release;
  • Down In The Boondocks (South)
  • The Weight (Robertson)
  • Superman (Dawson)

  • John Dawson (Marmaduke) - guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia: pedal steel, banjo
  • Spencer Dryden: drums, percussion
Guest on tracks 5 and 9 only;
  • Mickey Hart - drums, percussion
  • Commander Cody - piano

  • Arranged and produced by The New Riders Of The Purple Sage
  • Executive producer - Phil Lesh, Steve Barncard
  • Engineer - Steve Barncard
  • Technician - Ellen Burke
  • Cover art - Michael Ferguson and Kelley
  • Photography - Dryden/Parrish
  • Recorded and mixed at Wally Heider's Studio, SF

Garcia, Lesh and Hart were members of the initial line-up of the New Riders Of The Purple Sage.

Their first recording session, with the original line-up of Dawson, Nelson, Garcia, Phil Lesh and Mickey Hart, was in November 1969. During this session they produced 4 songs which were eventually released on Before Time Began.

Garcia remained with the group through to sometime toward the end of 1971. He was a full time member of the band during the recording of this album. Subsequently he only contributed occasionally to NRPS LPs.

In an interview in 1971 Garcia said the following about his pedal steel playing; playing is so mediocre I can't begin to tell you how embarrassed I am about my playing the damn thing."
Related releases

Two single were released in conjunction with this LP;

I Don't Know You, Glendale Train, Louisiana Lady, Last Lonely Eagle and Henry were included on; Henry and Louisiana Lady were included on;
  • L.A. Lady, The New Riders Of The Purple Sage, 1991
Henry, Glendale Train, Louisiana Lady, I Don't Know You, Last Lonely Eagle were included on; Whatcha Gonna Do was included on; All the tracks from the NRPS first LP were included on; All the tracks from the NRPS first LP were included on the 5 CD boc set; Glendale Train was included on; Glendale Train was also included on a re-release of Hillbilly Fever;
Buy extended CD

album cover

album cover