tracks / musicians credits related releases

Hillbilly Fever, Vol. 5 - Legends Of Country Rock

Various Artists

Initial release : April 1995

Rhino 71904

This compilation includes tracks by New Riders Of The Purple Sage, Seatrain and The Youngbloods.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Musicians

The performers on the other tracks of this compilation are;

  • Luxury Liner - The International Submarine Band
  • Bowling Green - The Everly Brothers
  • You Ain't Going Nowhere - The Byrds
  • Never Going Back - The Lovin' Spoonful
  • Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You - Bob Dylan
  • Silver Threads And Golden Needles - Linda Ronstadt
  • Sin City - The Flying Burrito Brothers
  • Pickin' Up The Pieces - Poco
  • Mr. Bojangles - Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
  • Lost In The Ozone - Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen
  • Some Of Shelley's Blues - Michael Nesmith
  • Grizzly Bear - The Youngbloods
  • Rock And Roll Gypsies - Hearts And Flowers
  • Never Ending Song Of Love - Delaney and Bonnie and Friends
  • Orange Blossom Special - Seatrain
  • Glendale Train - New Riders Of The Purple Sage
  • Amie - Pure Prairie League
  • Fire On The Mountain - The Marshall Tucker Band
Glendale Train is taken from the first NRPS album. The musicians on the track are;
  • John Dawson (Marmaduke) - guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia: pedal steel, banjo
  • Spencer Dryden: drums, percussion

For the compilation;

  • Compilation producer - Rich Kienzle, James Austin, Patrick Milligan
  • Executive producer - Richard Foos
  • Licensing - Mark Pinkus, Rich Kienzle
  • Discographical annotation - Patrick Milligan, Rich Kienzle
  • Liner notes - Rich Kienzle
  • Remastering - Bob Fisher, Digital Domain
  • Art direction - Coco Shinomiya
  • Design - Rachel Gutek
  • Logo design - Glenn Parsons

  • "This collection is dedicated in fond memory of Gram Parsons (1946-1973), whose belief that country and rock music could coexist harmoniously as cosmic Amercian music inspired a whole generation of country and rock musicians."
Related releases

Glendale Train is taken from;

Orange Blossom Special is taken from the second Seatrain LP; Grizzly Bear is taken from; In 1996 Hillbilly Fever, Vol. 5 - Legends Of Country Rock was resequenced, repackaged and reissued as;