tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Bluegrass Reunion

Red Allen, David Grisman, Herb Petersen, Jim Buchanan and Jim Kerwin

Initial release : 1992

Acoustic Disc ACD 4

Bluegrass classics featuring Red Allen, who gave David Grisman his first job as a mandolin player. Jerry Garcia plays on three tracks.


  • Back Up And Push (Theme) (Traditional arr. Allen / Grisman)
  • She's No Angel (Ballman / Arnold)
  • I'm Just Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail (Davis / Taylor)
  • The Fields Have Turned Brown (C. Stanley)
  • To Love And Live Together (Lambert / Buchanan)
  • I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome (B. Monroe / H. Williams)
  • Pigeon Roost (Grisman)
  • Down Where The River Bends (Traditional arr. R. Allen)
  • Love Please Come Home (E. Jackson)
  • Letter From My Darlin' (B. Monroe)
  • This My Destiny (H. Carter)
  • Ashes Of Love (Anglin / Wright)
  • Is It Too Late Now? (J. Davis)
  • Little Maggie (Traditional arr. Allen / Pedersen / Grisman)
  • Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone? (A.P. Carter)
  • Back Up And Push (Theme) (Traditional arr. Allen / Grisman)

  • Red Allen - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, vocals
  • Herb Pedersen - banjo, vocals
  • Jim Buchanan - fiddle, vocals
  • James Kerwin - bass
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
Garcia contributes to the following songs;
  • The Fields Have Turned Brown - lead vocals, lead acoustic guitar
  • This My Destiny - lead acoustic guitar
  • Ashes Of Love - lead vocals
Two tracks from this release were included on the first Acoustic Disc sampler. The musician information provided with that release for the tracks was;

She's No Angel;

  • Red Allen - guitar, lead vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, baritone, vocals
  • Herb Pedersen - banjo, tenor vocals
  • Jim Buchanan - fiddle
  • Jim Kerwin - bass
Little Maggie;
  • Herb Pedersen - banjo, lead vocals
  • Red Allen - guitar
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Jim Buchanan - fiddle
  • Jim Kerwin - bass

  • Producer - David Grisman for Dawg Productions
  • Recording engineer - David Dennison
  • Mixing - Dawg
  • Executive producer - Craig Miller
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Photography - Jon Sievert
  • Design - Dawg, Von Wall
  • Liner notes - David Grisman
  • Thanks to - Charlie Cran,and the Strawberry Bluegrass Festival, Jack Crymes, David Dennison, Jerry Garcia, Mike Marshall, Rick Montgomery, Gary Nichols, Pam, Artie and Harriet Rose
  • Recorded May 27 to May 29, 1991 at Dawg Studios

Recorded in May 1991 and thought to be Red Allen's last recording session.

Related releases

An expanded deluxe edition of Bluegrass Reunion was released as a download in 2016 and on CD in 2018:

She's No Angel and Little Maggie were included on the Acoustic Disc sampler: Love Please Come Home and Is It Too Late Now? were included on the Acoustic Disc sampler: Little Maggie was included on:
Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover