tracks / musicians related releases

Dead Delites, Vol. 4

Various Artists

Initial release : 2000

Relix 2101

A compilation album of songs written by or associated with the Grateful Dead taken from Relix albums. Includes tracks from Matt Kelly's Wing And A Prayer album with involvement from Garcia, Kreutzmann, Weir and Mydland, one NRPS track with Garcia, Hart and Lesh and one track with Tom Constanten. Also includes a cover of New Speedway Boogie.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks on this compilation are by the following performers;

  • Dangerous Relations - Matt Kelly
  • If That's The Way - Matt Kelly
  • Last Lonely Eagle - New Rider of the Purple Sage
  • New Speedway Boogie - Toni Brown
  • Hard To Handle - Joe Gallant and Illuminti
  • Beat It On Down The Line - Stackabones
  • Shining Dawn - Matt Kelly
  • Not Fade Away - Jorma Kaukonen Band and guests (inc. Tom Constanten)
Dangerous Relations, If That's The Way and Shining Dawn are taken from the Matt Kelly album, Wing And A Prayer. The liner notes for the album provide track by track musician information. The musicians on the three tracks included on this compilation are;

Dangerous Relations;

  • Ron Eglit - pedal steel
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar
  • Chris Herold - drums
  • Matt Kelly - guitar
  • Rahni Rains - vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Shining Down;
  • Fred Campbell - bass
  • Patti Cathcart - vocals
  • Stan Coley - synthesizer
  • Barry Flast - vocals
  • Robbie Hoddinot - guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins - piano
  • Matt Kelly - guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Brent Mydland - vocals
If That's The Way;
  • Stan Coley - guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins - piano
  • Matt Kelly - guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Brent Mydland - vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, vocals
  • Bob Wright - organ
Last Lonely Eagle is taken from the New Riders Of The Purple Sage album Before Time Began. The musicians on the track are;
  • John Dawson - guitar, vocals
  • Dave Nelson - guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Mickey Hart - drums
New Speedway Boogie is taken from Toni Brown's Dare To Dream CD. The musicians involved on the CD include;
  • Toni Brown - vocals
  • Ernie Acevedo - conga
  • John Beland - guitar, mandolin, organ, tambourine
  • Marty Bostoff - bass, vocals
  • Vassar Clements - fiddle
  • Gary Kroman - guitar
  • Mike Nicita - drums
  • Jeff Pearlman - keyboards
  • Rob Wolfson - guitar
Hard To Handle is taken from The Music Of The Grateful Dead And Beyond by Joe Gallant and Illuminati. Musician information for this recording will be added when available.

Beat It On Down The Line is taken from Stackabones self-titled album. The musicians involved on this recording are;

  • Bobby Black - pedal steel guitar
  • Jimmie B. - guitar, vocals
  • Steve Doblick - guitar, vocals
  • Tom Hurst - drums
  • Mindy Lawler - vocals
  • Jeannine O'Neal - organ
  • Tom Tomacello - keyboards
  • David Weil - percussion
  • Karen Whitney - vocals
  • Sam Wilson - bass
  • Butch Zito - mandolin, guitar, vocals
Not Fade Away is taken from the various artists release Third Annual Gathering on the Mountain. The track is performed by Jorma Kaukonen Band and guests including Tom Constanten. Further information about the musicians involved on this track will be added when available.

Related releases

Dangerous Relations, Shining Dawn and If That's The Way;

Last Lonely Eagle; New Speedway Boogie; Hard To Handle; Beat It On Down The Line; Not Fade Away;
Buy from

album cover