tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Seventeen

Grateful Dead

Initial release : April 2000

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4037

Three CD set most of which was recorded live on September 25, 1991 at the Boston Gardens. Two additional tracks are from the March 31, 1991 show.


Disc 1

  • Help On The Way (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Slipknot! (Garcia/K. Godchaux/Kreutzmann/Lesh/Weir)
  • Franklin's Tower (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Hunter)
  • Walkin' Blues (Robert Johnson)
  • It Must Have Been The Roses (Hunter)
  • Dire Wolf (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Queen Jane Approximately (Dylan)
  • Tennessee Jed (Garcia/Hunter)
  • The Music Never Stopped (Weir/Barlow)
Disc 2
  • Victim Or The Crime (Weir/Graham)
  • Crazy Fingers (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • Terrapin Station (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Boston Clam Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Drums (Hart/Kreutzmann)
  • Space (Garcia/Lesh/Weir)
Disc 3
  • That Would Be Something (McCartney)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • China Doll (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Throwing Stones (Weir/Barlow)
  • Not Fade Away (Petty/Hardin)
  • The Mighty Quinn (Dylan)

    Filler: March 31, 1991

  • Samson And Delilah (Traditional)
  • Eyes Of The World (Garcia/Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bruce Hornsby - keyboards, accordion, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Vince Welnick - keyboards, vocals

  • Recording - Dan Healy
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • CD Mastering - Jeffery Norman
  • Photography - Jim Anderson, Susana Millman
  • Thanks - Local Eleven I.A.T.S.E. Boston, Paul Zermani and the Boston Garden

  • Recorded live on September 25, 1991 at the Boston Gardens except for the last two tracks which were recorded live on March 3, 1991 at Greensboro.

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 17 carries the following message;

Caveat Emptor This release was digitally mastered from the original 2 track digital audio tapes, and was not recorded with the intent of producing a commercial release. It may, therefore, contain some minor anomalies, although we have aimed to make it just exactly perfect.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 17 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 17 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in July 2014.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1991 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover