tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Twenty

Grateful Dead

Initial release : January 2001

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4040

Four CD set of nearly two complete shows - the September 25, 1976 show at the Capital Centre, Landover and the September 28, 1976 show at the Onondaga County War Memorial, Syracuse.


Disc 1

  • Bertha (Garcia/Hunter)
  • New Minglewood Blues (Trad. Arr. by Bob Weir)
  • Ramble On Rose (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Cassidy (Weir / Barlow)
  • Brown-Eyed Woman (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Mama Tried (Haggard)
  • Peggy-O (Trad. Arr. by Grateful Dead)
  • Loser (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Let It Grow (Weir / Barlow)
  • Sugaree (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Lazy Lightnin' (Weir / Barlow)
  • Supplication (Weir / Barlow)
Disc 2
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Dancing In The Streets (Stevenson, Gaye, I. Hunter)
  • Cosmic Charlie (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Scarlet Begonias (Garcia/Hunter)
  • St. Stephen (Garcia/Lesh/Hunter)
  • Not Fade Away (Petty/Hardin)
  • Drums (Hart/Kreutzmann)
  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • St. Stephen (Garcia/Lesh/Hunter)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir/Hunter)
Disc 3
  • Cold Rain and Snow (Grateful Dead)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Cassidy (Weir / Barlow)
  • Tennessee Jed (Garcia / Hunter)
  • New Minglewood Blues (Trad. Arr. by Bob Weir)
  • Candyman (Garcia/Hunter)
  • It's All Over Now (B. & S. Womack)
  • Friend Of The Devil (Garcia/Dawson /Hunter)
  • Let It Grow (Weir / Barlow)
  • Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad (Trad. Arr. by Grateful Dead)
Disc 4
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • The Wheel (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Hunter)
  • Samson and Delilah (Trad. Arr. by Bob Weir)
  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Comes A Time (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Drums (Hart/Kreutzmann)
  • Eyes Of The World (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Orange Tango Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Dancing In The Streets (Stevenson, Gaye, I. Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • Johnny B. Goode (Berry)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Live Recording - Dan Healy
  • CD Mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape Archivists - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • Archival Research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photography - Ed Perlstein
  • Cover art and design - Tina Carpenter
  • Cover photos - David DeNoma
  • Special Thanks - Bob Minkin

  • Discs 1 and 2 recorded on September 25, 1976 at the Capital Centre, Landover
  • Discs 3 and 4 recorded on September 28, 1976 at the Onondaga County War Memorial, Syracuse

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 20 carries the following warning;

Dick's Picks Volume 20 was mastered from the original stereo 1/4" reel-to-reel tapes, running at 7.5 ips, from the PA mix. Through optimal sonic manipulation of these master tapes we have aimed to create as good a replication of the live concert experience as possible. Enjoy.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks Vol. 20 was originally only available by mail order from Grateful Dead Merchandising and other selected outlets. It was released through regular retail distributors in September 2004.

Dick's Picks 20 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 20 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2013.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1976 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover