tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Twenty Two

Grateful Dead

Initial release : June 2001

Grateful Dead Records

Double CD release of music from the February 22 to 24, 1968 shows at King's Beach Bowl, Lake Tahoe, CA


Disc 1

  • Viola Lee Blues (Lewis)
  • Hurts Me Too (James/Sehorn)
  • Dark Star (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir/Hunter) >
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia/Hunter) >
  • The Eleven (Lesh/Hunter) >
  • Turn On Your Lovelight (Scott/Malone)
  • Born Cross Eyed (Weir) >
  • Spanish Jam (Grateful Dead)
Disc 2
  • Morning Dew (Dobson/Rose)
  • Good Morning Little School Girl (Williamson)
  • That's It For The Other One:
    Cryptical Envelopment (Garcia)
    The Faster We Go The Rounder We Get (Weir/Kreutzmann)
    Cryptical Envelopment (Garcia)
  • New Potato Caboose (Lesh/Petersen)
  • Alligator (McKernan/Lesh/Hunter) >
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia/Hunter) >
  • The Eleven (Lesh/Hunter) >
  • Alligator (McKernan/Lesh/Hunter) >
  • Caution (Grateful Dead) >
  • Feedback (Grateful Dead)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan - organ, harmonica, percussion, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Live recording - Dan Healy
  • Tape Archivists - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Archival research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Cover art and design - Tina Carpenter
  • Layout design - Robert Minkin
  • Photos - Andy Mond, Patricia Holmbo, Brad Perks, Chris Jepsen

  • Recorded live on February 22 to 24, 1968 at King's Beach Bowl, Lake Tahoe

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 22 carries the following warning;

WARNING: This is not an audiophile recording! Many of you may have read the numerous Dick's Picks Caveat Emptors over the years and thought "Oh yeah... sure... whatever." Well, those old analog recording source exhibits many audio flaws including high distortion, low vocals, tape hiss, and missing pieces. No fair calling Customer Support and complaining! However, let it be known that this CD also includes some pretty damn exciting and historical music, and for that reason is brought to you with pride.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks Vol. 22 was originally only available by mail order from Grateful Dead Merchandising and other selected outlets. It was released through regular retail distributors in September 2004.

Dick's Picks 22 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 22 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2013.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1968 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover