tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Three

Grateful Dead

Initial release : November 1995

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4021

Two CD live set from the May 22, 1977 show at Pembroke Pines, Florida.


Disc 1

  • Funiculi Funicula (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • The Music Never Stopped (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Sugaree (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Lazy Lightning (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Supplication (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Dancin' In The Streets (Stevenson/Gaye/I. Hunter)
  • Help On The Way (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Slipknot! (Grateful Dead)
  • Franklin's Tower (Jerry Garcia / Bill Kreutzmann / Robert Hunter)
Disc 2
  • Samson And Delilah (Traditional arr. Bob Weir)
  • Sunrise (Donna Godchaux)
  • Estimated Prophet (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Eyes Of The World (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Wharf Rat (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Terrapin Station (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Morning Dew (Dobson/Rose)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Recorded by - Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Photography - Ed Perlstein
  • Cover design - Gecko Graphics
  • Artwork - GDM Inc.

  • Recorded at The Sportatorium, Pembroke Pines, FL on May 22, 1977

The rear cover of the CD carries the following message.

Caveat Emptor:

This show was originally recorded on analog tape manufactured in the late 1970s. Many tapes from this period have exhibited severe deterioration in recent years. The chemical formulation has failed over time causing the magnetic oxide (which holds the musical information) to separate from the mylar backing. Fortunately we were able to recover the music on these tapes by using a baking process which rebonded the oxide to the tape. While the results of this restoration were quite remarkable, occasional weirdness remains.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 also carried message about tape quality followed by a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 3 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 3 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in December 2015.

Dick's Picks 3 was released on vinyl by Brookvale Records in a limited edition of 2000 copies in 2012.

Sugaree from Dick's Picks 3 was included on the promotional sampler;

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1977 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music edition

Front cover
album cover

Rear cover
album cover

Inside front cover
album cover

Inside rear cover
album cover