tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Thirty

Grateful Dead

Initial release : October 2003

Grateful Dead Records

Four CD set recorded live at Academy of Music, New York City in 1972. One disc contains some of the March 25, 1972 show. The remaining three discs comprise the complete March 28, 1972 show.


Disc 1 (March 25, 1972)

  • Hey Bo Diddley (McDaniel)*>
  • I'm A Man (McDaniel)*>
  • I've Seen Them All (McDaniel)>
  • Jam (McDaniel)
  • Mona (McDaniel)
  • How Sweet It Is (Holland / Dozier / Holland)
  • Are You Lonely For Me (Berns)
  • Smokestack Lightning (Burnett)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter) (this is from 3/27/72)
Disc 2 (March 28, 1972)
  • Truckin' (Garcia / Lesh / Weir / Hunter)
  • Tennessee Jed (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Chinatown Shuffle (McKernan)
  • Black-Throated Wind (Weir / Barlow)
  • You Win Again (Williams)
  • Mr. Charlie (McKernan / Hunter)
  • Mexicali Blues (Weir / Barlow)
  • Brokedown Palace (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Next Time You See Me (Harvey / Forest)
  • Cumberland Blues (Garcia / Lesh / Hunter)
Disc 3 (March 28, 1972)
  • Looks Like Rain (Weir / Barlow)
  • Big Railroad Blues (Lewis arr. Grateful Dead)
  • El Paso (Robbins)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia / Hunter)>
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Casey Jones (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Sugaree (Garcia / Hunter)
  • The Stranger (Two Souls In Communion) (McKernan)
Disc 4 (March 28, 1972)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir / Hunter)>
  • The Other One (Weir / Kreutzmann)
  • Hurts Me Too (James / Sehorn)
  • Not Fade Away (Petty / Hardin)>
  • Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)>
  • Not Fade Away (Petty / Hardin)
  • Sidewalks Of New York (Blake / Lawlor)
  • One More Saturday Night (Weir)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - electric bass, vocals
  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan - organ, percussion, harmonica, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Bo Diddley - guitar, vocals (tracks 1 to 5 on disc 1)

  • Recording - Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape archivist - David Lemieux
  • Archival research - Eileen Law / Grateful Dead Archives
  • Cover art, package design, photograph - Robert Minkin

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a similar message and also a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;

Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 30 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 30 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2012.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1972 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy original release

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover