tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Six

Grateful Dead

Initial release : October 1996

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4026

Three CD version of the complete October 14, 1983 show at Hartford.


Disc 1

  • Alabama Getaway (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Greatest Story Ever Told (Bob Weir / Mickey Hart / Robert Hunter)
  • They Love Each Other (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Mama Tried (Merle Haggard)
  • Big River (Johnny Cash)
  • Althea (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • C.C. Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Tennessee Jed (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Hell In A Bucket (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Keep Your Day Job (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
Disc 2
  • Scarlet Begonias (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Fire On The Mountain (Mickey Hart / Robert Hunter)
  • Estimated Prophet (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Eyes Of The World (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
Disc 3
  • Drums (Mickey Hart / Bill Kreutzmann)
  • Spinach Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • The Other One (Bob Weir / Bill Kreutzmann)
  • Stella Blue (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • U.S. Blues (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Recorded by - Dan Healy
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Photography - Michael Conway
  • Design - Gecko Graphics

  • Recorded Live: October 14, 1983 at the Hartford Civic Center, Hartford, CT

The rear cover of Dick's Picks 6 carries the following message.

Caveat Emptor:

This compact disc has been digitally remastered directly from the original metal cassette. It is a snapshot of history, not a modern professional recording, and may therefore exhibit some technical anomalies and the unavoidable effects of the ravages of time.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a similar message and also a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 6 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 6 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in June 2015.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1983 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music edition

album cover

album cover