tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Seven

Grateful Dead

Initial release : March 1997

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4027

Three CD set compiled from the three London shows on September 9, 10 and 11, 1974.


Disc 1

  • Scarlet Begonias (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Mexicali Blues (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Row Jimmy (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Black Throated Wind (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Beat It On Down The Line (Jesse Fuller)
  • Tennessee Jed (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Bob Weir / Mickey Hart / Robert Hunter)
Disc 2
  • Weather Report Suite (Bob Weir / John Barlow / Andersen)
  • Stella Blue (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Jack Straw (Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • Brown Eyed Women (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Big River (Johnny Cash)
  • Truckin' (Jerry Garcia / Phil Lesh / Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • Wood Green Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Wharf Rat (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
Disc 3
  • Me And My Uncle (John Phillips)
  • Not Fade Away (Charles Hardin / Norman Petty)
  • Dark Star (Jerry Garcia / Bill Kreutzmann / Phil Lesh / Ron McKernan / Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • Spam Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Morning Dew (Bonnie Dobson / Tim Rose)
  • U.S. Blues (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Recorded by - Bill Candelario
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Magnetic scrutinizer - John Cutler
  • Design - Gecko Graphics
  • Architechtural rendering - Alfred Meeson

  • Recorded Live on September 9, 10 and 11, 1974 at the Alexandra Palace, London, England

The rear cover of Dick's Picks 7 carries the following message.

Caveat Emptor:

This compact disc has been digitally remastered directly from the original half track 7.5 ips analog tape. It is a snapshot of history, not a modern professional recording, and may therefore exhibit some technical anomalies and the unavoidable effects of the ravages of time.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a similar message and also a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
The songs on this release are from the following shows.

September 9, 1974;

  • Scarlet Begonias
  • Mexicali Blues
  • Row Jimmy
  • Truckin'
  • Wood Green Jam
  • Wharf Rat
September 10, 1974;
  • Black Throated Wind
  • Mississippi Half Step
  • Weather Report Suite
  • Stella Blue
  • Me And My Uncle
  • Not Fade Away
  • Dark Star
  • Spam Jam
  • Morning Dew
  • U.S. Blues
September 11, 1974;
  • Beat It On Down The Line
  • Tennessee Jed
  • Playing In The Band
  • Jack Straw
  • Brown-Eyed Women
  • Big River
Related releases

Dick's Picks 7 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 7 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in June 2015.

Playing In The Band from Dick's Picks 7 was included on the promotional sampler;

1973 and 1974 are considered by many to be a peak period for the Grateful Dead. For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1973 and 1974 sections of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music edition

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover