tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dischord 1981: The Year in Seven Inches

Various Artists

Initial release : December 1993

Dischord 14

This compilation of music released on 7 inch EPs by Dischord in late 1980 and 1981 includes Deadhead by the Teen Idles.


  • Teen Idles
  • Sneakers
  • Get Up and Go
  • Deadhead
  • Fleeting Fury
  • Fiorucci Nightmare
  • Getting in My Way
  • Too Young to Rock
  • Lost in Space
  • Draw Blank
  • Girl Problems
  • Blackout
  • Gate Crashers
  • Warzone
  • Riot
  • Gang Fight
  • Public Defender
  • Gonna Hafta Fight
  • Filler
  • I Don't Wanna Hear It
  • Seeing Red
  • Straight Edge
  • Small Man, Big Mouth
  • Screaming at a Wall
  • Bottled Violence
  • Minor Threat
  • Religious Ripoff
  • Fashionite
  • Rock'n Roll Bullshit
  • Anarchy Is Dead
  • Sheer Terror
  • Asshole
  • Bored to Death
  • No Rights
  • I'm James Dean
  • Cowboy Fashion
  • In My Eyes
  • Out of Step
  • Guilty of Being White
  • (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  • It's About Time That We Had a Change
  • Full Speed Ahead
  • Point of View
  • Barbed Wire
  • Pay No Attention
  • Wrong Decision
  • No Song
  • No Song LL

The tracks on the compilation are by the following groups.

  • Teen Idles, Sneakers, Get Up and Go, Deadhead, Fleeting Fury, Fiorucci Nightmare, Getting in My Way, Too Young to Rock - Teen Idles
  • Lost in Space, Draw Blank, Girl Problems, Blackout, Gate Crashers, Warzone, Riot, Gang Fight, Public Defender, Gonna Hafta Fight - State Of Alert
  • Filler, I Don't Wanna Hear It, Seeing Red, Straight Edge, Small Man, Big Mouth, Screaming at a Wall, Bottled Violence, Minor Threat, In My Eyes, Out of Step, Guilty of Being White, (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone - Minor Threat
  • Religious Ripoff, Fashionite, Rock'n Roll Bullshit, Anarchy Is Dead, Sheer Terror, Asshole, Bored to Death, No Rights, I'm James Dean, Cowboy Fashion - Government Issue
  • It's About Time That We Had a Change, Full Speed Ahead, Point of View, Barbed Wire, Pay No Attention, Wrong Decision, No Song, No Song LL - Youth Brigade
The Teen Idles, who perform Deadhead, were;
  • Nathan Strejcek - vocals
  • Geordie Grindle- guitar
  • Ian MacKaye - bass
  • Jeff Nelson - drums
State Of Alert was a Henry Rollins band.


For the original recording of the Teen Idles tracks;

  • Producer - Skip Groff
  • Liner notes - Jeff Nelson
  • Recorded at Inner Ear

The lyrics of Deadhead are roughly as follows;

Deadhead, deadhead, take another toke
Deadhead, deadhead, you're a lousy joke
Friend of the devil, who you trying to kid?
Friends of the devil are dead like Sid

I'll be grateful when you're dead
I'll be grateful when you're dead
I'll be grateful when you're dead
So don't stick around too long

Riding that train high on cocaine
The music's really lousy, the fans are a pain
Troubles behind, troubles ahead
The only good deadhead is one that's dead

Related releases

Deadhead and all the other Teen Idles tracks were originally released on;

The others tracks were released on;
  • No Policy EP, State of Alert, 1981
  • Minor Threat EP, Minor Threat, 1981
  • Legless Bull EP, Government Issue, 1981
  • In My Eyes EP, Minor Threat, 1981
  • Possible EP, Youth Brigade, 1981
Buy from