tracks musicians notes related releases

Essential Listening, Vol. 1

The Hellecasters

Initial release : 2002

Hightone 8146

This compilation includes one song, Mr Natural which is a tribute to the Grateful Dead and their groove.


  • Disintonation (Jorgenson)
  • Valley of the Pharaohs (Donahue)
  • Ghosts of 42nd Street (Ray)
  • Little Miss Strange (Redding) Riddler's Journey (Donahue)
  • Danger Man (Ray)
  • Le Journée des Tziganes (Jorgenson)
  • Mr. Natural (Ray)
  • Axe to Grind (Donahue)
  • Deiter's Lounge (Jorgenson)
  • Almost Dawn (Donahue)
  • Bucket of Fish (Ray)

The Hellecasters;

  • Jerry Donahue - guitar, gong, keyboards
  • John Jorgenson - guitar, keyboards, bass, vibes, percussion
  • Will Ray - guitar
The Rhythm 'N' Keys;
  • Dennis Belfield - bass
  • John Davis - bass
  • Bob Birch - bass
  • John Hobbs - keyboards
  • Guy Babylon - keyboards
  • Steve Duncan - drums, percussion
  • Donald Lindley - drums
  • Charlie Morgan - drums
  • Luis Conte - percussion

  • Producers - The Hellecasters
  • Executive producer, liner notes - Jim Cowan
  • Engineers - Michael McDonald, Jerry Donahue, Andy Green, John Jorgenson, Bob Kearney, Pete Lewis, Eric Nordquist, Will Ray
  • Mixing - Will Ray, Michael McDonald, John Jorgenson, Jerry Donahue
  • Mastering - Bob Stone
  • Photos - Dean Coy
  • Graphic design - Cindy Pascarello
  • Recorded in Hollywood, Burbank and London

Mr Natural was written by Will Ray who commented on the song;

Two big influences on me were cartoonist Robert Crumb and the Grateful Dead. Here I tried to capture the la vibe of both.
Related releases

The tracks on this compilation are from the following sources.

Back on Terra Firma;

  • Return Of The Hellecasters, The Hellecasters, 1993
Valley of the Pharaohs, Danger Man, Le Journée des Tziganes and Axe to Grind;
  • Escape From Hollywood, The Hellecasters, 1995
  • Guitars That Rule The World, Volume 2: Smell The Fuzz/The Superstars Guitar Album, Various Artists, 1996
Ghosts of 42nd Street, Riddler's Journey, Mr Natural, Deiter's Lounge and Almost Dawn; Little Miss Strange and Bucket Of Fish are previously unreleased.

Buy from