tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Garcia / Grisman: Alternate: Hi-Def Master

Jerry Garcia and David Grisman

Initial release : 2012

Acoustic Oasis

A high definition, digital collection of previously unreleased alternate takes from David Grisman's archive. This CD was released to mark Garcia's 70th birthday. The track list is the same as that of the original Garcia Grisman album in 1991.


  • Thrill Is Gone (Darnell / Hawkins)
  • Grateful Dawg (Jerry Garcia / David Grisman)
  • Two Soldiers (Traditional arr. Garcia / Grisman)
  • Friend of the Devil (John Dawson / Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Russian Lullaby (Irving Berlin)
  • Dawg's Waltz (David Grisman)
  • Walkin' Boss (Traditional arr. Garcia / Grisman)
  • Rockin' Chair (Hoagy Carmichael)
  • Arabia (David Grisman / Traditional)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Joe Craven - fiddle, percussion
  • James Kerwin - bass

  • Producers - Jerry Garcia and David Grisman
  • Recording - David Dennison
  • Recorded at Dawg Studios

For notes on the original Garcia Grisman album and their performing relationship the the page for the original album.


Grisman notes about this release:

"Our sessions were always informal, and all of these takes are exceptional performances. They are just as vibrant as the original selected masters and perhaps even better!"
Related releases

The Garcia Grisman album was released in 1991;

Buy from Acoustic Oasis

album cover