tracks / musicians credits related releases

Hard Rock Cafe: Rockin' Down the Highway

Various Artists

Initial release : June 1999

Rhino 75792

Single CD compilation album that includes Truckin' from the Grateful Dead LP American Beauty.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Rockin' Down the Highway - The Doobie Brothers
  • Radar Love - Golden Earring
  • Under My Wheels - Alice Cooper
  • Highway Star - Deep Purple
  • Fun, Fun, Fun - The Beach Boys
  • Hot Rod Lincoln - Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen
  • Mercury Blues - David Lindley
  • Truckin' - Grateful Dead
  • Roll on Down the Highway - Bachman-Turner Overdrive
  • Truckin' - Bread
  • Crawling From the Wreckage - Dave Edmunds
  • Low Rider - War
  • No Particular Place to Go - Chuck Berry
  • Go Lil' Camaro Go - The Ramones
  • Drivin' Wheel - Foghat
  • Freeway Jam - Jeff Beck
Truckin' is taken from American Beauty on which the musicians are;
  • Jerry Garcia- guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Pig Pen (Ron McKernan) - harmonica, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
There is one guest musician on Truckin'
  • Howard Wales - organ

For the compilation;

  • Compilation producer - David McLees
  • Digital remastering - Andrew Garver, Bill Inglot
Related releases

Truckin' is taken from;

This is one of a series of Hard Rock Café CDs released by Rhino in the mid to late 1990s. None of the other CDs in the series include music by the Grateful Dead. The series includes;
  • Hard Rock Cafe: Classic Rock, Various Artists, 1997
  • Hard Rock Cafe: New Wave, Various Artists, 1997
  • Hard Rock Cafe: 80's Heavy Metal, Various Artists, 1998
  • Hard Rock Cafe: Modern Blues, Various Artists, 1998
  • Hard Rock Cafe: Party Rock Classics, Various Artists, 1998
  • Hard Rock Cafe: Surf, Various Artists, 1998
  • Hard Rock Cafe: Great Balls of Fire, Various Artists, 1999