tracks / musicians notes related releases

The Heart Of Rock

Various Artists

Initial release : 1988

Columbia 44381

A benefit compilation CD that includes Touch Of Grey taken from the Grateful Dead album In The Dark and The Way It Is taken from the Bruce Hornsby album The Way It Is.

Tracks / Musicians

The performers on the other tracks on this compilation are;

  • Brilliant Disguise - Bruce Springsteen
  • C'Est la Vie - Robbie Nevil
  • I Didn't Mean to Turn You On - Robert Palmer
  • Touch of Grey - Grateful Dead
  • Solitude Standing - Suzanne Vega
  • The Way It Is - Bruce Hornsby
  • Should've Known Better - Richard Marx
  • Modern Woman - Billy Joel
  • Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now - Starship
  • The Final Countdown - Europe
Touch Of Grey is taken from In The Dark on which the musicians are;
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
The Way It Is is taken from the The Way It Is on which the main performers are;
  • Bruce Hornsby - synthesizer, piano, accordion, hammered dulcimer, vocals
  • David Mansfield - guitar, mandolin, violin
  • George Marinelli - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, vocals
  • John Molo - percussion, drums
  • Joe Puerta - bass, vocals

Heart Of Rock was a benefit release to support leukaemia, cancer, and AIDS research.

Related releases

Touch Of Grey is taken from;

The Way It Is is taken from;
album cover

album cover