tracks musicians credits notes related releases

In The Dark

Grateful Dead

Initial release : July 6, 1987

Arista AL-8452

The Dead's first album for 6 years.


  • Touch Of Grey (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Hell In A Bucket (Weir / Barlow / Mydland)
  • When Push Comes To Shove (Garcia / Hunter)
  • West L.A. Fadeaway (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Tons Of Steel (Mydland)
  • Throwing Stones (Weir / Barlow)
  • Black Muddy River (Garcia / Hunter)

  • My Brother Esau (Weir / Barlow) (Cassette release and later Japanese CD reissue only)
Bonus tracks on CD version released in the Beyond Description box set in 2004 and as a separate CD in 2006;
  • My Brother Esau (Weir / Barlow) - Single B-side, 1/15/87
  • West L.A. Fadeaway (Garcia / Hunter) - Alternate version, 3/84
  • Black Muddy River (Garcia / Hunter) - Studio rehearsal, 12/5/86
  • When Push Comes To Shove (Garcia / Hunter) - Studio rehearsal, 12/5/86
  • Touch Of Grey (Garcia / Hunter) - Studio rehearsal, 8/82
  • Throwing Stones (Weir / Barlow) - Live, 7/4/87

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Producer - Jerry Garcia, John Cutler
  • Engineered - John Cutler, Guy Charbonneau
  • Additional engineers - Dan Healy, Jeff Sterling, Jeffrey Norman, David Roberts, Joe Gastwirt, Justin Kreutzmann
  • Programming, spatial effects - Bob Bralove
  • Album coordination, tour manager - John McIntire
  • Grateful Dead crew - Ramrod, Bill Candelario, Steve Parish, Harry Popick, Robbie Taylor, Billy Grillo
  • Grateful Dead Office - Eileen Law, Janet Soto-Knudsen, Sue Stephens, Mary Jo Meinolf, Maruska Nelson, Annette Flowers, Basia Raizene, Diane Geoppo, Nancy Mallonee, Dennis McNally (Publicist)
  • Club Front - Willie 'Jack' Legate, Patricia Harris, Dick Latvala, Colleen Smith
  • Art direction, photography - Herbie Greene
  • Cover Art - Randy Tuten
  • Design - Gail Grant, Tom Ingalls
  • Mask - Margaret Fabrizio
  • Basics recorded at - Marin Veterans Auditorium, San Rafael by Le Mobile, 1/6/87 - 1/13/87
  • Additional recording and mixing at - Club Front, San Rafael
  • The album carries two dedications:

    'Farewell to Otis'

    'This album is dedicated to the memory of Paul Roehlk'


The basic tracks for In The Dark were recorded in an as-live situation in Marin County Veterans Auditorium in January 1987. Garcia spoke about the recording in an interview;

Marin Vets turns out to be an incredibly nice room to record in. There's something about the formal atmosphere in there that makes us work. When we set up at Front Street to work, a lot of times we just sort of dissolve into hanging out. Going in [Marin Vets] without an audience and playing just to ourselves was in the nature of an experiment...
Additional material was added and mixing completed during February and March 1987.

The 'extra' pair of eyes on the cover belong to Bill Graham.

Related releases

Two singles were released in conjunction with this album;

Released on CD in 1987, Arista 8452.

The In The Dark CD release was included in;

A remastered, expanded version of In The Dark was included in the box set; This remastered, expanded version was released as a single CD in 2006.

All tracks from In The Dark were included on the digital release;

Touch Of Grey, Hell In A Bucket, West LA Fadeaway, Throwing Stones and Black Muddy River were included on; Touch Of Grey and Hell In A Bucket were included on; Touch Of Grey has been included on a number of various artists compilations.

Throwing Stones has been included on two benefit albums.

Buy expanded CD from

Buy regular CD from

album cover

Expanded CD release
album cover

album cover

Japanese card sleeve
album cover