tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Keith and Donna Godchaux

Keith and Donna Godchaux

Initial release : March 1975

Round Records RX 104

Keith and Donna Godchaux's first album. Jerry Garcia plays guitar on the album.


  • River Deep, Mountain High (Barry / Greenwich / Spector)
  • Sweet Baby (Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • Woman Make You (Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • When You Start To Move (Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • Showboat (Godchaux / Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • My Love For You (Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • Farewell Jack (Godchaux / Godchaux / Godchaux)
  • Who Was John (Traditional)
  • Every Song I Sing (Godchaux / Godchaux)

  • Donna Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - guitars, vocals
  • Denny Seiwell - drums
  • Chrissy Stewart - bass

  • Brian Godchaux - violin on Every Song I Sing
  • Merl Saunders - organ on Sweet Baby
  • Bernard Purdie - drums on River Deep, Mountain High
  • John Kahn - bass on River Deep, Mountain High
  • Jim Brereton - drums on Farewell Jack
  • Bill Wolf - bass on Farewell Jack

  • Producers - Keith and Donna Godchaux
  • Recorded - "At great expense" (Studio R)
  • Engineer - Bill Wolf
  • Engineering assistant - Fred Bradfield
  • Mixed by Gene Eichlberger and Merl Saunders at His Master's Wheel
  • Mastered at Artisan Sound Recorders - Hollywood
  • Front Cover Photograph: Andy Leonard
  • Back Cover Photograph: Cadillac Ron
  • Zion's Thoughts by Garcia

Donna Godchauz spoke about the recording of this album in an interview with Blair Jackson;

Almost all of it was recorded at our house in Stinson Beach. Bob Matthews brought in a Neve board and we had our nine-foot Steinway there and we had our whole living room set up as a recording studio for a while. Jerry was just a couple of minutes away, so it was real easy to get together and work on it.
The cover features the Godchaux's son Zion. Garcia provided drawings representing his [Zion's] thoughts.

Related releases

Every Song I Sing is included on the UK produced sampler LP;

  • For Dead Heads, Various Artists, 1976, Round Records / United Artists, FREE 2
Every Song I Sing and possibly other tracks (probably rough mixes rather than the final versions) from this LP, were included on;
album cover

album cover