tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Music to Be Born By

Mickey Hart

Initial release : 1989


Music to be used during 'the birthing process'.


  • Music to Be Born By (Hart/Hart/Hart/Vega)

  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Taro S. Hart - heartbeat
  • Mary Holloway Hart
  • Bobby Vega - bass, bass guitar
  • Steve Douglas - flute

  • Producer - Mickey Hart
  • Engineer - Mickey Hart, Tom Flye, John Cutler
  • Remixing - Tom Flye
  • Liner Notes - Mickey Hart
  • Remixing Assistant - Jeff Sterling
  • Artwork - Steven Jurgensmeyer

From Rykodisc information:

"This music was composed specifically for the birth of Mickey's son Taro, and is intended to be used during the birthing process. Taro's fetal heartbeat was recorded on a Nagra portable field recorder, with a fetal pulse monitor attached to his mother's stomach. Back in the studio, the stereo tape was then transferred to a 16-track recorder and overdubbed.
Mickey Hart described the purpose of this album as follows:
"The intent of this music is to facilitate and coordinate rhythmic breathing cycles, assisting the mother's concentration and focus before, during and after delivery."
Related releases

Part of Music To Be Born By is included on the sampler CD:

Buy from

album cover

album cover