tracks / musicians related releases

Welcome To Our World - 1990

Various Artists

Initial release : 1990

Rykodisc RCD PRO 9002

This is a compilation of tracks taken from the Rykodisc World Series of albums. Mickey Hart was invloved with the recording and/or producing of all the original albums. Hart, Lesh and Kreutzmann play on one track. Hart on three others. One track was co-produced by Garcia.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers are as follows;

  • Blow Wind Blow - Dzintars
  • Sweet Sixteen - Diga Rhythm Band
  • Akiwowo Babatunde Olatunji
  • Kori - Babatunde Olatunji
  • The Groom - Music Of Upper And Lower Egypt
  • Dry Sands Of The Desert - Mickey Hart, Airto, Flora Purim
  • Tov L'Hodot - Golden Gate Gypsy Orchestra
  • Mwashah - Hamza El Din
  • Compound - The Rhythm Devils
  • Alop And Jor - Hariprasad/Zakir Hussain
  • Music To Be Born By - Mickey Hart, Taro Hart
  • Raga: Bageshree - Ustad Sultan Khan
  • Yamantaka - The Gyuto Monks
Blow Wind Blow, is performed by the Dzintars Latvian Women's Choir and taken from the album, Dzintars which was produced by Garcia and Hart.
  • 76 singers are listed in the Dzintars CD booklet; plus;

  • Imants Cepitis - chief conductor
  • Ausma Derkevica - conductor
  • Inesse Galante - soloist (Latvian State Opera and Ballet Theatre)
  • Aivars Kalejs - organ
  • Gunta Malevica - choir master
  • Ruta Vintule - accompanist, piano
  • Dzintars - arrangements

Dry Sands Of The Desert is taken from Dafos. The musicians on this track are;

  • Steve Douglas - woodwind
  • Mickey Hart - tars
  • Shabda Khan - tars
  • Daniel Kennedy - tars
  • Mica Katz - tars
  • Khadija Mastah - tars
  • Ray Patch - tars
  • Habib Bishop - tars
  • Brian Crittenden - tars
Related releases

The tracks on this sampler are taken from the following Rykodisc albums.

Blow, Wind, Blow is taken from;

Sweet Sixteen is taken from;
  • Diga, Diga Rhythm Band, 1976
Akiwowo (a capella) is taken from; Kori is taken from; The Groom is taken from; Dry Sands Of The Desert is taken from;
  • Dafos, Mickey Hart/Airto Moreira/Flora Purim, 1983
Tov L'Hodot is taken from; Mwashah is taken from; Compound is taken from; Alop And Jor is taken from;
  • Venu, Hariprasad/Zakir Hussain, 1989
Music To Be Born By is taken from;

Raga:Bageshree is taken from; Yamantaka is taken from;
album cover