tracks musicians credits notes related releases

The Pizza Tapes: Extra Large Edition

Jerry Garcia, David Grisman, Tony Rice

Initial release : 2010

Acoustic Disc 73

A 3 CD set of music from the two evenings of music-making in February 1993 at David Grisman's Studios. This is an expanded version of the single CD Pizza Tapes released in 2000.


CD 1;

  • Pizza Preamble
  • Man of Constant Sorrow (run through)
  • Man of Constant Sorrow (instrumental)
  • Always Late
  • Man of Constant Sorrow 1
  • Constant Patter
  • Man of Constant Sorrow 2
  • Louis Collins 1
  • Louis Collins 2
  • Shady Grove (run through)
  • Shady Grove 1 (incomplete)
  • Shady Jam
  • Shady Grove 2
CD 2;
  • Shady Grove 3
  • Summertime (run through)
  • Guitar Space
  • Summertime
  • Long Black Veil (run through)
  • Long Black Veil 1 (incomplete)
  • Rosa Lee McFall (run through)
  • Rosa Lee McFall 1
  • Rosa Lee McFall 2
  • Drifting Too Far from the Shore (inc run through)
  • Nestles Quick
  • Drifting Too Far from the Shore 1
  • Jerry plays Tony's D-28 s
CD 3;
  • Long Black Veil reprise (run through)
  • Long Black Veil intro
  • Long Black Veil reprise 2
  • Amazing Grace (run through)
  • Amazing Grace
  • Little Sadie (run through)
  • Little Sadie
  • Knockin' on Heaven's Door (run through)
  • Knockin' on Heaven's Door
  • Free Transition
  • So What
  • Interlude
  • House of the Rising Sun

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Tony Rice - guitar

  • Producer - David Grisman
  • Executive producer - Craig Miller
  • Recording, mixing - David Dennison
More information will be added when available.


The music on this set was recorded during two evening jam sessions at David Grisman's studios.

Garcia had a cassette copy made of some of the music from these sessions. This tape was supposedly stolen from his house by a pizza delivery worker and was subsequently distributed widely among tape traders. The tape became known as the Pizza Boy tape. The original CD release in 2000 borrowed this titled.

David Grisman says in his notes for the release of the single CD version;

"After several years of being pissed off, I decided to bury the hatchet with the pizza boy and make these tapes available to all in this 'official' version. The sound quality is magnificent and the performances glow with vitality and spontaneity."
Related releases

Some of this material was originally released on;

  • Pizza Tapes, Jerry Garcia, David Grisman, Tony Rice, 2000
Versions of Man Of Constant Sorrow and Amazing Grace were included on; A version of Louis Collins was released on;
Buy from Acoustic Disc

album cover