tracks musicians credits related releases


Crosby, Stills and Nash

Initial release : 1980

Atlantic SD 16026

A compilation album, comprising songs from CSN group and solo LPs. Garcia possibly plays pedal steel on one track from the second solo LP, Stephen Stills 2.


  • Carry On (Stephen Stills)
  • Marrakesh Express (Graham Nash)
  • Just A Song Before I Go (Graham Nash)
  • First Things First (Stephen Stills / Joe Schermie / Jon Smith)
  • Shadow Captain (David Crosby / Craig Doerge)
  • To The Last Whale...
    A - Critical Mass (David Crosby)
    B - Wind On The Water (Graham Nash)
  • Love The One You're With (Stephen Stills)
  • Pre-Road Downs (Graham Nash)
  • Change Partners (Stephen Stills)
  • I Give You Blind (Stephen Stills)
  • Cathedral (Graham Nash)

Replay provides musician information for each track. Garcia is listed for the track Change Partners. However he is not listed on the original album (Stephen Stills 2), nor on subsequent compilations (Crosby, Stills and Nash box set and Carry On) that include the track.

The information for Change Partners included with Replay is as follows;

  • Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, bass, vocals
  • David Crosby - vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel
  • Conrad Isidore - drums
  • Graham Nash - vocals
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
The information given for Change Partners in the Crosby, Stills and Nash box set is;
  • Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • David Crosby - vocals
  • Henry Diltz - vocals
  • Paul Harris - keyboards
  • Freddie Neil - vocals
  • Calvin Samuels - bass
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
No pedal steel player is listed but there is a pedal steel present on the track.

Other musicians on this compilation are;

  • Rita Coolidge - vocals
  • David Crosby - guitar, vocals
  • Craig Doerge - pianos
  • Tim Drummond - bass
  • Jimmy Gordon - drums
  • Priscilla Jones - vocals
  • Russel Kunkel - percussion
  • Joe Lala - percussion
  • Billy Meeker - drums
  • Graham Nash - guitar, keyboards, percussion, vocals
  • Kenny Passarelli - vocasl
  • George Perry - bass
  • Calvin Samuels - bass
  • John Sebastian - vocals
  • Leland Sklar - bass
  • Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, bass, vocals
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
  • James Taylor - guitar, vocals
  • Joe Vitale - keyboards, flute
  • Jeff Whittaker - congas

For the compilation album;

  • Remix engineer - Stanley Johnson
  • Second engineer - Jay Parti
  • Assembled by - Rudy Records, Hollywood
  • Art direction, design - Jimmy Wachtel
  • Front cover art - Joni Mitchell
  • Hand lettering - Gloria von Jansky
  • "This album was made for Ahmet Ertegun to whom it is respectfully dedicated"
Related releases

Change Partners is taken from;

The other tracks on this compilation are taken from;
  • Carry On from Deja Vu, Crosby, Stills Nash & Young, 1970, Atlantic SD 7200
  • Marrakesh Express and Pre-Road Downs from Crosby, Stills and Nash, Crosby, Stills and Nash, 1969
  • Just A Song Before I Go, I Give You Blind, Cathedral and Shadow Captain from Crosby, Stills and Nash, Crosby, Stills and Nash, 1977
  • First Things First from Stills, Stephen Stills, 1975
  • To The Last Whale... A - Critical Mass, B - Wind On The Water from Wind On The Water, Crosby and Nash, 1975
  • Love The One You're With from Stephen Stills, Stephen Stills, 1970
Buy from

album cover