tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Stephen Stills 2

Stephen Stills

Initial release : June 1971

Atlantic AD 7206

Second Stephen Stills solo LP. Garcia possibly plays pedal steel on one track.


  • Change Partners (Stephen Stills)
  • Nothin' to Do But Today (Stephen Stills)
  • Fishes and Scorpions (Stephen Stills)
  • Sugar Babe (Stephen Stills)
  • Know You Got to Run (Stephen Stills / John Hopkins)
  • Open Secret (Stephen Stills)
  • Relaxing Town (Stephen Stills)
  • Singin' Call (Stephen Stills)
  • Ecology Song (Stephen Stills)
  • Word Game (Stephen Stills)
  • Marianne (Stephen Stills)
  • Bluebird Revisited (Cotillion)

Garcia may play pedal steel on Change Partners;

Note that Garcia is not listed in the credits for the original Stephen Stills 2 album, nor in the credits on the Crosby, Stills and Nash compilation album Carry On which included Change Partners, nor in the credits on the Crosby, Stills and Nash Box Set which also included Change Partners. However the track is included on the Crosby, Stills and Nash compilation Replay and he is credited there.

No musician is named for pedal steel on this original album but there is a pedal steel guitar on the track. P> Musicians listed for Change Partners on the Replay compilation;

  • Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, bass, vocals
  • David Crosby - vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel
  • Conrad Isidore - drums
  • Graham Nash - vocals
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
Musicians listed for Change Partners on the Crosby, Stills and Nash Box Set;
  • Stephen Stills - guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • David Crosby - vocals
  • Henry Diltz - vocals
  • Paul Harris - keyboards
  • Freddie Neil - vocals
  • Calvin Samuels - bass
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
Musicians involved on other tracks on this LP include;
  • Stephen Stills - bass, guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Eric Clapton - guitar
  • David Crosby - vocals
  • Henry Diltz - vocals
  • Rocky Dijon - percussion
  • Fearless Freddy - vocals
  • Paul Harris - keyboards
  • Conrad Isadore - drums
  • Dr. John - keyboards
  • Gaspar Lawrawal - percussion
  • Nils Lofgren - guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Billy Preston - keyboards
  • Fuzzy Samuels - bass, vocals
  • Dallas Taylor - drums
  • The Memphis Horns;
  • Sidney George - saxophone
  • Jack Helm - trombone
  • Roger Hopps - trumpet, horn
  • Wayne Jackson - trumpet
  • Ed Logan - saxophone
  • Andrew Love - saxophone
  • James Mitchell - saxophone
  • Floyd Newman - saxophone

  • Producers - Stephen Stills, Bill Halverson
  • Arranger and conductor - Stephen Stills
  • Engineer - Bill Halverson
  • Assistants - Richard Digby Smith, Ronnie and Howie Albert,
  • Photography - Henry Diltz
  • Art Direction, design - Gary Burden
  • Recorded at Island Studios, London - Criteria Studios, Miami - Wally Heider's, LA

Jerry Garcia discussed his contribution to this album and Change Partners in an interview published in the British magazine Swing 51 (no. 7, 1983). He stated that:

that's me playing pedal steel and there's an uptempo tune on that LP that I played on.
Related releases

Stephen Stills 2 was repackaged as part of a two-on-one double LP, together with the first Stephen Stills solo LP and issued as;

Change Partners has been included on one Stephen Stills compilation album; Change Partners has also been included on three Crosby, Stills and Nash compilations;
Buy from

album cover