tracks / musicians related releases

Sounds of the Seventies: FM Rock Vol. 1

Various Artists

Initial release : 199?

Time-Life SOD-24

Single CD compilation album that includes Sugar Magnolia from the Grateful Dead LP American Beauty, a track by Moby Grape and a track by the Steve Miller Band.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • All the Way from Memphis - Mott the Hoople
  • Going to Mexico - Steve Miller Band
  • Gypsy Wedding - Moby Grape
  • Gone Dead Train - Crazy Horse
  • Willin' - Little Feat
  • The Shape I'm In - The Band
  • Sugar Magnolia - Grateful Dead
  • (Is Anybody Going to) San Antone - Doug Sahm and Band
  • Empty Pages - Traffic
  • Satellite of Love - Lou Reed
  • Jewel Eyed Judy - Fleetwood Mac
  • The Harder They Come - Jimmy Cliff
  • Every Picture Tells a Story - Rod Stewart
  • Chestnut Mare - The Byrds
  • The Story in Your Eyes - Moody Blues
  • Do the Strand - Roxy Music
  • Jeepster - T. Rex
  • Rockin' down the Highway - Doobie Brothers
  • Sail Away - Randy Newman
Sugar Magnolia is taken from American Beauty on which the musicians are;
  • Jerry Garcia- guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Pig Pen (Ron McKernan) - harmonica, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
Related releases

Sugar Magnolia is taken from;

Gypsy Wedding is taken from; Going To The Country is taken from;
Buy from

album cover