tracks musicians notes related releases

Three From The Vault

Grateful Dead

Initial release : June 2007


Two CD release of the February 19, 1971 show at the Capitol Theater, Port Chester, NY.


CD 1;

  • Two Ditties:
    The Merry-Go-Round Broke Down (Friend / Franklin)   (song info)
    Spring Song (Mendelssohn arr. Grateful Dead)   (song info)
  • Truckin' (Garcia / Lesh / Weir / Hunter)   (song info)
  • Loser (Garcia / Hunter)   (song info)
  • Cumberland Blues (Garcia / Lesh / Hunter)   (song info)
  • It Hurts Me Too (James / Sehorn)   (song info)
  • Bertha (Garcia / Hunter)   (song info)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)   (song info)
  • Dark Hollow (Browning)   (song info)
  • Smokestack Lightnin' (Burnett)   (song info)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia / Hunter)   (song info)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)   (song info)
CD 2; Musicians

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, harmonica, percussion, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - percussion
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Producer - Grateful Dead
  • Recording - Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor
  • Mixing - Dan Healy
  • Engineer - Jeffrey Norman, Don Pearson
  • Mastering - Joe Gastwirt at Joe's Mastering Joint
  • Tape archivist - Dick Latvala
  • Cover and package design - Steve Vance
  • Photos - Fred Ordower, Bob Seidermann
  • CD booklet essay - Gary Lambert
  • CD booklet "Recollections From The Vault" - Joe Gastwirt
  • Recorded live on February 19, 1971 at the Capitol Theater, Port Chester, NY

This music was mixed and mastered ready for release in the early 1990's shortly after the release of Two From The Vault.

The Feb 19, 1971 show features the debut live Grateful Dead performances of Bird Song and Deal. It also features the second live performances of Bertha, Playing In The Band, Loser and Wharf Rat all of which were played for the first time on the previous night at Port Chester.

Related releases

Three From The Vault was included in the limited edition box set release;

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1971 section of the Dead by Date page.

Buy from

Front cover
album cover

Rear cover
album cover

CD 1
album cover

CD 2
album cover

Fold-out images
album cover

album cover