tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Uncle John's Band / New Speedway Boogie

Grateful Dead

Initial release : July 1970

Warner Brothers 7410

7" single released in conjunction with Workingman's Dead. A white label promotional version of the single was also distributed.


  • Uncle John's Band (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • New Speedway Boogie (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Mickey Hart - drums

  • Producer - Bob Matthews and Betty Cantor in association with The Grateful Dead
  • Engineer - Alembic
  • Recorded at Pacific High Recording Studio, San Francisco

The single version of Uncle John's Band was an edited version of the album track. One chorus was removed and the phrase God damn was removed to avoid any problems with radio play.

Related releases

A vinyl replica 7" single was released in 2018:

Both songs were also released on: A white label promotional version of the single was also distributed: New Speedway Boogie was subsequently included on:
Regular label
album cover

album cover

Picture sleeve
album cover

album cover

album cover