tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Uncle John's Band / New Speedway Boogie promotional single

Grateful Dead

Initial release : July 1970

Warner Brothers

7" single promotional released in conjunction with the standard Uncle John's Band / New Speedway Boogie single taken from the Workingman's Dead LP.


  • Uncle John's Band (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • New Speedway Boogie (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Mickey Hart - drums

  • Producer - Bob Matthews and Betty Cantor in association with The Grateful Dead
  • Engineer - Alembic
  • Recorded at Pacific High Recording Studio, San Francisco

The single version of Uncle John's Band was an edited version of the album track. One chorus was removed and the phrase God damn was removed to avoid any problems with radio play.

Related releases

This promotional single was was released to promote the standard 7" single:

Both songs were also released on:
album cover

album cover