tracks/musicians related releases

Freedom Is a Constant Struggle: Songs of the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement

Various Artists

Initial release : 1994

Folk Era 1419

This compilation includes a track by Bob Dylan and two by Eric Andersen.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Hey Nelly Nelly - Judy Collins
  • Here's to the State of Mississippi - Phil Ochs
  • Ballad of Medgar Evers - SNCC Freedom Singers
  • Death of Medgar Evers - Donal Leace
  • Only a Pawn in Their Game - Bob Dylan
  • Too Many Martyrs - Kim & Reggie Harris
  • Blowin' in the Wind - Peter, Paul & Mary
  • It Isn't Nice - Judy Collins
  • Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around - Julius Lester
  • If I Had a Hammer - Barbara Dane
  • Going Down to Mississippi - Phil Ochs
  • I'm on My Way - Barbara Dane
  • Thirsty Boots - Eric Andersen
  • Carry It On - Carolyn Hester
  • Wade in the Water - Julius Lester
  • Move on Over - Len Chandler
  • I'm Going to Get My Baby Out of Jail - Len Chandler
  • Waves of Freedom - Eric Andersen
  • This Little Light of Mine - Odetta
  • How Long - Terry Lonini, Greg Artzner and Kim & Reggie Harris
  • Movin' It On - Odetta
  • Ain't You Got a Right to the Tree of Life - Guy and Cindy Carawan
  • Freedom School - Jack Washington Landron
  • Song for Ben Chaney - Jack Washington Landron
  • Goodman, Schwermer and Chaney - Tom Paxton
  • Those Three Are on My Mind - Kim & Reggie Harris, Magpie and Terry Leonino
  • Michael, Andrew and James - Richard and Mimi Farina
  • I Have Seen Freedom - Si Kahn
  • Three Young Men - Carolyn Hester
  • In the Mississippi River - SNCC Freedom Singers
  • Freedom Is a Constant Struggle - Julius Lester
  • This May Be the Last Time - Bernice Reagon Johnson
  • We Will Not Bow Down to Genocide - Len Chandler
  • You Should've Been Down in Mississippi - Magpie
  • Father's Grave - Jack Washington Landron
  • Mississippi Summer - Si Kahn
  • Fannie Lou Hamer - Sweet Honey In The Rock
  • Summer '64/Oh Freedom - Greg Trafidlo, Laura Pole and Neal Phillips
  • Shadows on the Light - Matthew Jones
  • Ella's Song - Sweet Honey In The Rock
Related releases

Thirsty Boots was originally released on two LPs. Uncertain which of these is the source of the version on this compilation;

Waves of Freedom was originally released on;