Come to the Mountain: Old Time Music for Modern Times

Various Artists

Initial release : 2005


This collection includes three tracks by Putnam String Country Band which included John Cohen.


  • Come to the Mountain - Putnam String Country Band
  • Hop High My Lulu Gal - Dirk Powell
  • Willow - Mac Benford and the Woodshed All-Stars
  • Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground - Corey Harris
  • Winter - Tony Trischka
  • A Sweet Goodbye - Jones & Leva
  • Perilous Journey - Putnam String Country Band
  • Down at Mylow's House - Norman Blake
  • Station Blues - Corey Harris
  • Chicken in the Snowbank - James Bryan
  • Black Jack Davey - Putnam String Country Band
  • Your Heart Has Found a Home - Ron Block
  • River of Sorrow - Mac Benford & The Woodshed All-Stars
  • Midnight on the Water - Jay Ungar
  • Long Journey - Lee Berg and Rory Block
  • Walking Back to Richmond - Dry Branch Fire Squad
  • Bane's Grave - Tony Furtado and Dirk Powell
  • When Sorrows Encompass Me Round - Dirk Powell and Riley Baugus
  • Askokan Farewell - Fiddle Fever
  • Help Me Climb That Mountain - Lynn Morris Band
  • Amazing Grace - Paul Butterfield and John Sebastian
  • There Is a Reason - Alison Krauss and Union Station
Related releases

The Putnam String Country Band tracks were originally released on;

Buy from

album cover