tracks musicians credits related releases

East Bay Grease

Tower Of Power

Initial release : 1970

San Francisco 204

The debut Tower Of Power LP. Their only release on the San Francisco label.

Buy from

album cover


  • Knock Yourself Out (Castillo / Kupka)
  • Social Lubrication (Castillo / Kupka)
  • The Price (Castillo / Kupka)
  • Back On The Streets Again (Castillo / Kupka)
  • The Skunk, The Goose, And The Fly (Castillo / Kupka)
  • Sparkling In The Sand (Castillo / Kupka)

Tower of Power,a la carte:

  • Rufus Miller - lead vocals (except Sparkling in the Sand)
  • Emilio Castillo - alto saxophone, vocals
  • Dave Garibaldi - drums, vibes, background vocals
  • Greg Adams - trumpet
  • Steve Kupka (The Funky Doctor) - baritone saxophone, background vocals
  • Skip Mesquite - tenor saxophone, flute, vocals
  • David Padron - trumpet
  • Frank Prestia - bass
  • Rick Stevens - lead vocal on Sparkling in the Sand, background vocals
  • Willy Fulton - guitar, background vocals
Mellow Side Orders,a la mode:
  • Mic Gillette - trumpet, trombone, flugelhorn
  • Ken Balzell - trumpet

  • Producer, recording, mixing - David Rubinson
  • Cover art - Bruce Steinberg
  • Recorded and mixed at Mercury Recording Studios, San Francisco
Related releases

One single was released in conjunction with this album;

  • Sparkling In The Sand / Back On The Streets Again, Tower Of Power, 1970, San Francisco 64
Sparkling In The Sand and Social Lubrification were included on the compilation; Knock Yourself Out, Back on the Streets Again and Sparkling in the Sand were included on the compilation;