tracks musicians related releases

The Essential

Jefferson Airplane

Initial release : 2005

RCA 67917

Double CD compilation of tracks recorded between 1966 and 1972. Includes one track with Jerry Garcia.


CD 1

  • Blues from an Airplane (Balin / Spence)
  • It's No Secret (Balin)
  • Come Up the Years (Balin / Kantner)
  • She Has Funny Cars (Balin / Kaukonen)
  • Somebody to Love (Slick)
  • Comin' Back to Me (Balin)
  • Embryonic Journey (Kaukonen)
  • White Rabbit (Slick)
  • The Ballad of You & Me & Pooneil (Kantner)
  • Martha (Kantner)
  • The Last Wall of the Castle (Kaukonen)
  • Watch Her Ride (Kantner)
  • Lather (Slick)
  • Crown of Creation (Kantner)
  • Greasy Heart (Slick)
  • Share a Little Joke (Balin)
CD 2
  • 3/5's of a Mile in 10 Seconds (Balin)
  • Plastic Fantastic Lover (Balin)
  • We Can Be Together (Kantner)
  • Good Shepherd (Traditional)
  • Wooden Ships (Crosby / Kantner / Stills)
  • Eskimo Blue Day (Kantner / Slick)
  • Volunteers (Balin / Kantner)
  • Have You Seen the Saucers (Kantner)
  • Mexico (Slick)
  • When the Earth Moves Again (Kantner)
  • Pretty As You Feel (Casady / Covington / Kaukonen)
  • Third Week in the Chelsea (Kaukonen)
  • Long John Silver (Casady / Slick)
  • Twilight Double Leader (Kantner)
  • Feel So Good (Kaukonen)
  • Milk Train (Creach / Slick / Spotts)

Jefferson Airplane members;

  • Signe Anderson - vocals
  • Marty Balin - guitar, vocals
  • Jack Casady - bass, guitar
  • Joey Covington - percussion, vocals
  • Papa John Creach - violin
  • Spencer Dryden - percussion
  • Paul Kantner - guitar, vocals
  • Jorma Kaukonen - guitar, vocals
  • Grace Slick - piano, organ, recorder, vocals
  • Skip Spence - drums
Jerry Garcia plays on one tracks on this compilation release.

Comin' Back To Me;

  • Marty Balin - vocals
  • Grace Slick - recorder
  • Jack Casady - guitar
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar
Related releases

It's No Secret, Come Up The Years and Blues From An Airplane are taken from;

Somebody To Love, Embryonic Journey, She Has Funny Cars, White Rabbit and Comin' Back To Me are taken from; The Ballad Of You And Me And Pooneil, Watch Her Ride and The Last Wall Of The Castle are taken from; Martha is taken from the single;
  • Watch Her Ride / Martha, Jefferson Airplane, 1968, RCA 9389
Lather, Greasy Heart and Crown of Creation are taken from; Share A Little Joke is taken from the single;
  • Greasy Heart / Share A Little Joke, Jefferson Airplane, 1968, RCA 9496
3/5's of a Mile in 10 Seconds and Plastic Fantastic Lover are taken from; We Can Be Together, Wooden Ships, Good Shepherd, Volunteers and Eskimo Blue Day from; When the Earth Moves Again, Pretty as You Feel and Third Week in the Chelsea are takenfrom;
  • Bark, Jefferson Airplane, 1971
Long John Silver and Twilight Double Leader are taken from; Feel So Good and Milk Train are taken from; Mexico and Have You Seen the Saucers are taken from;
Buy from