tracks / musicians related releases

The Golden Age of Underground Radio

Various Artists

Initial release : August 1989


This compilation of album tracks (1968-1972) and radio news spots, commercials, and chat, includes one Quicksilver Messenger Service track, What About Me?, with a horn section that includes Martin Fierro. Also includes a track by Lee Michaels.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks and performers

The CD comprises songs interspersed with chat, commercials and news spots all presented by Tom Donahue.

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Fresh Garbage - Spirit
  • The Time Has Come Today - Chamber Bros.
  • So You Want to Be a Rock & Roll Star - Byrds
  • Get Together - The Youngbloods
  • Shoot Out on the Plantation - Leon Russell / Tom Donahue
  • Delta Lady - Joe Cocker
  • Atlantis - Donovan
  • Hurdy Gurdy Man - Donovan
  • Darkness, Darkness - The Youngbloods
  • I'd Love to Change the World - Ten Years After
  • On the Road Again - Canned Heat
  • What About Me? - Quicksilver Messenger Service
  • Do You Know What I Mean - Lee Michaels
  • Scottish Tea - Amboy Dukes
Related releases

What About Me was originally released on;

  • What About Me, Quicksilver Messenger Service, 1970, Capitol ST-630
Do You Know What I Mean was originally released on a single and LP;
  • Do You Know What I Mean / Keep The Circle Turning, Lee Michaels, 1971
  • 5th, Lee Michaels, 1971
Get Together was originally released on; Darkness Darkness was originally released on;