tracks / musicians related releases

The Greatest Songs of Woody Guthrie

Woody Guthrie / Various Artists

Initial release : 1988

Vanguard 73105

CD compilation of music that was originally released in the early 1970s as two LPs. Comprises songs by performed by Woody Guthrie and some of his admirers including one track by Country Joe McDonald.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this release are;

  • This Land Is Your Land - Woody Guthrie / Weavers
  • Do-Re-Mi - Cisco Houston
  • So Long (It's Been Good to Know You) - The Weavers
  • Pastures of Plenty - Odetta
  • Deportee (Plane Wreck at Los Angeles) - Cisco Houston
  • 900 Miles - Cisco Houston
  • Roll on, Columbia - Country Joe McDonald
  • Hard, Ain't It Hard - Woody Guthrie & Cisco Houston
  • Dirty Overhalls - Woody Guthrie
  • Riding in My Car - Woody Guthrie
  • Ship in the Sky - Cisco Houston
  • The Sinking of the Reuben James - The Wevaer
  • Ramblin' Round - Odetta
  • Jesus Christ - Cisco Houston
  • When the Curfew Blows (Curfew Blow) - Country Joe McDonald
  • 1913 Massacre - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  • Talking Fishing Blues - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  • Curly Headed Baby - Cisco Houston
  • Jackhammer John - The Weavers
  • The Great Historical Bum - Odetta
  • Pretty Boy Floyd - Joan Baez
  • Buffalo Skinners - Jim Kweskin
  • Hard Travelin' - Woody Guthrie with Cisco Houston and Sonny Terry
Related releases

Roll on, Columbia and When the Curfew Blows (Curfew Blow) were originally released on;

Many of the tracks on this release were originally compiled on;
Buy from