tracks musicians credits related releases

Thinking of Woody Guthrie

Country Joe McDonald

Initial release : December 1969

Vanguard VSD-6546

Country Joe's first solo LP. An interpretation of songs by Woody Guthrie.

Buy from



  • Pastures of Plenty (Guthrie)
  • Talkin' Dust Bowl (Guthrie)
  • Blowing Down That Dusty Road (Guthrie/Hays)
  • So Long It's Benn Good to Know Yuh (Guthrie)
  • Tom Joad (Guthrie)
  • The Sinking of the Reuben James (The Almanac Singers)
  • Roll on, Columbia (Guthrie/Leadbelly/Lomax)
  • Pretty Boy Floyd (Guthrie)
  • When the Curfew Blows (Guthrie)
  • This Land Is Your Land (Guthrie)

  • Country Joe McDonald - vocals
  • Grady Martin - dobro, guitar, sitar
  • Ray Edenton - guitar
  • Norbert Putnam - bass
  • Hal Rugg - steel guitar
  • Hargus Robbins - piano
  • Buddy Harmon - drums

  • Producer - Samuel Charters
  • With many thanks to Ed Denson for his help with the sessions
  • Engineer, mixing - Jerry Bradley
  • Recorded at Bradley's Barn, Mt. Juliet, Wilson County, TN
Related releases

Roll on, Columbia and Tom Joad were included on;

Roll On Columbia was included on; Pastures of Plenty and Roll on, Columbia were included on; Roll on, Columbia and When the Curfew Blows were included on;